Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading Fedora Easily To Mesa 10.7/Git

Phoronix: Upgrading Fedora Easily To Mesa 10.7/Git

With all of the Mesa OpenGL 4 happenings -- and most recently OpenGL 4.1 for RadeonSI -- you may be wondering how to run this latest code prior to its official release in September...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

This is awesome. I hadn't located this before, although I've been using Fedora for a few years now. I've been going to the source repos, getting the SRPMS, installing them, modifying the SPEC files, then doing the GIT checkout and the builds. This is SO much easier (and more likely to have less weird deviations from Fedora due to removing patches).

Comment

Seems weird adding git repos to versioned distros to me. If you want to run cutting edge code then surely you'd go for a rolling release distro?

My preferred method for adding mesa git :
      Code:
      yaourt mesa-git
      But I'm happy to wait for it to hit the main pacman repos rather than install from the AUR. It's not like I'll be waiting long.

Comment

Originally posted by kaprikawn View Post
        Seems weird adding git repos to versioned distros to me. If you want to run cutting edge code then surely you'd go for a rolling release distro?

My preferred method for adding mesa git :
        Code:
        yaourt mesa-git
        But I'm happy to wait for it to hit the main pacman repos rather than install from the AUR. It's not like I'll be waiting long.
        Exactly what I thought. Arch's AUR has everything you really need. Can't live without it anymore.

Comment

Originally posted by kaprikawn View Post
          surely there exist rolling mesa only distro? oh wait

Comment