Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Support For Old Hardware Is Being Removed From Coreboot

Phoronix: Support For Old Hardware Is Being Removed From Coreboot

Coreboot developers are taking to their Git tree and dropping support for old motherboards and chipsets...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

A problem is that Coreboot barerly has any support for new hardware.

And for recent hardware I believe the support is often not yet mature and complete.

Comment

"Because it's not being maintained" is the worst excuse ever. Does it work? Yes. It doesn't need changes.

Because no one ever runs on old hardware; nope, everyone retired their LGA 775 motherboards ages ago.

Comment

I'll put this out there first. I'm not a coder, have tried to learn many times over the years but it never "sticks" so I have no idea how much work what I'm about to suggest would involve.

Could the PTS be made to run lspci and the superio tool mentioned at http://www.coreboot.org/Support and then compare it to the list at http://www.coreboot.org/Supported_Chipsets_and_Devices to make identifying potentially compatible boards easier or at least giving the coreboot devs more information to work with?

Comment

Originally posted by gamerk2 View Post
          Because no one ever runs on old hardware; nope, everyone retired their LGA 775 motherboards ages ago.
          I think 775 is a bad example. I'm using Core 2 Duo (LGA 775) right now and it works just fine. No reason to retire the motherboard any time soon.

Comment

Originally posted by WOLF308 View Post