Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• OrangeFS Lands In Linux 4.6 Kernel

Phoronix: OrangeFS Lands In Linux 4.6 Kernel

A new file-system has been merged for the Linux 4.6 kernel...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Some people may argue that Linux have too many filesystems... me on the other hand.... I love it! MORE MORE!!!

http://www.dirtcellar.net

Comment

I'm not very good with file systems, I'm curious, how is OrangeFS different e.g. from ext4?

Comment

Originally posted by Hi-Angel View Post
        I'm not very good with file systems, I'm curious, how is OrangeFS different e.g. from ext4?
        ext4 is just a normal file system, it is what most would like to run.
        OrangeFS is a special-purpose file system for distributed and parallel computing, so its useful when you have many servers and many clients having access to the same files. Perhaps interesting to certain science projects and universities and big companies, but for most ordinary people it is not interesting.

Comment

Very interesting, I might actually use this later.

So it's basically a file-sharing centered file system right? For sharing files with one or more simultaneous users? Maybe would be nice to see some home file-sharing server (e.g. NAS server) uses for this file system in the future.

Comment

Originally posted by uid313 View Post

ext4 is just a normal file system, it is what most would like to run.
            OrangeFS is a special-purpose file system for distributed and parallel computing, so its useful when you have many servers and many clients having access to the same files. Perhaps interesting to certain science projects and universities and big companies, but for most ordinary people it is not interesting.