Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• KDE Frameworks 5.29 Adds Barcode/QR Generation, Faster Baloo

Phoronix: KDE Frameworks 5.29 Adds Barcode/QR Generation, Faster Baloo

The KDE community has released KDE Frameworks 5.29 as the newest version of their impressive collection of add-on libraries to complement Qt5...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

Just to establish my credentials: I started using GNU/Linux (slackware from 3.5" floppies) in '95. I've been using LFS (Linux From Scratch) since 2000. In '98 I installed KDE beta2. I was a loyal, you may say ardent, KDE fan. I stuck through thick and thin, I believed in their vision. For five or six years I used Konqueror as my default browser and kmail was my favorite email client. I even swallowed down nepomuk when it really messed up kmail. I believed it was a shaky first step in the right direction. I survived KDE SC 4.0/4.1. I lived by KDE and I evangelized in its name.

However, back in April 2016 I had enough with all the baloo crap. KDE devs presumed to know better than I how I should use my desktop. All this BS about indexing my files, all my emails, social network stuff (I don't use *any* social network). Why couldn't they just add a simple option: opt out of baloo and all the indexing nonsense. No, instead they doubled down and made it such an integral part of the desktop that you could no longer pick and choose what apps to use. You either got it all or nothing. Well, I chose the "nothing". I compiled XFCE, configured it to my liking and haven't looked back ever since.