Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GIMP's Progress In 2016, What's Ahead For 2017

Phoronix: GIMP's Progress In 2016, What's Ahead For 2017

GIMP developer Alexandre Prokoudine published a lengthy blog post today looking back at what were the accomplishments for this open-source image manipulation program in 2016 and some of what's ahead for the program this year...

Phoronix, Linux Hardware Reviews, Linux hardware benchmarks, Linux server benchmarks, Linux benchmarking, Desktop Linux, Linux performance, Open Source graphics, Linux How To, Ubuntu benchmarks, Ubuntu hardware, Phoronix Test Suite

> GIMP developer Alexandre Prokoudine published...

I'm not a developer. Thanks all the same

Also...

> But not making it for GIMP 2.10 is the port to the GTK3 tool-kit

You make it sound like we intended GTK+3 to be part of 2.10, and then it slipped. We never did.
    Last edited by prokoudine; 15 January 2017, 07:49 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by prokoudine View Post
      > GIMP developer Alexandre Prokoudine published...

I'm not a developer.
      While you’re here, let me tell you how much I value your libregraphicsworld.org site. The articles on there are very informative. I can appreciate that they take a lot of time to put together.

Comment

Originally posted by prokoudine View Post
        > But not making it for GIMP 2.10 is the port to the GTK3 tool-kit

You make it sound like we intended GTK+3 to be part of 2.10, and then it slipped. We never did.
        Well, it's Phoronix. Verum non olet.

Comment

Now with Krita...

Is Gimp still relevant?

Why Gimp still has that awful and unusable graphical user interface? Is the GUI designed by C programmers without sense if usability?

They would better design a framework used by Krita and other graphics drawing software than waste time. They do users work on a pathetic GUI that is one of the biggest running jokes of the Free Software world.