Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 120

Thread: black border

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I'm on debian sid, so i normally just do a "aptitude safe-upgrade".
    if i do recall correctly, lately there are quite a few upgrade packages for xorg-server.

    my xorg.0.log is pasted here
    once again, thanks for your time on this.

    i did recall trying to downgrade back to 8.4 but i run into compilation error when i do a "m-a a-i fglrx".

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    235

    Default

    It sounds like a DVI non-native-resolution issue.

    In the Catalyst Control Centre there is an option under Display Manager->Digital Monitor, called image scaling. Try seleting the "Scale image to full panel size" option?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default

    sigh

    the settings has been set to that since I install 8.5

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default

    I'm having the same problem with 8.5.
    Same config files as 8.4 running opensuse 10.2 (with a custom 2.6.22.9 kernel) with an x1800.
    DVI to HDMI cable.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi,

    I have similar issue. TV supports 1080p, but in 1920x1080 there is a blackborder and moreover part of display is hidden underneath the black border. System spec:

    AMD Athlon 64x2
    MB ECS A780G (integrated RadeonHD 3200)
    TV connected through HDMI
    Mythbuntu 8.04
    fglrx 8.50

    xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	Option	    "IgnoreEDID" "on"
    	Option      "MonitorLayout" "NONE, LCD"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Default Screen"
    	Device     "Configured Video Device"
    	Monitor    "Configured Monitor"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    
    	Subsection "Display"
    		Depth	24
    		Modes	"1920x1080" "1280x960"
    	EndSubsection
    
    EndSection
    Xorg.0.log:
    Code:
    (II) fglrx(0): Connected Display1: DFP on secondary TMDS [tmds2i]
    (II) fglrx(0): Display1 EDID data ---------------------------
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer: SAM  Model: 2a5  Serial#: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Year: 2006  Week: 45
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID Version: 1.3
    (II) fglrx(0): Digital Display Input
    (II) fglrx(0): Max H-Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 16  vert.: 9
    (II) fglrx(0): Gamma: 2.20
    (II) fglrx(0): No DPMS capabilities specified; RGB/Color Display
    (II) fglrx(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
    (II) fglrx(0): redX: 0.650 redY: 0.330   greenX: 0.300 greenY: 0.600
    (II) fglrx(0): blueX: 0.150 blueY: 0.080   whiteX: 0.313 whiteY: 0.329
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported VESA Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): 720x400@70Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 640x480@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 800x600@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): 1024x768@60Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported Future Video Modes:
    (II) fglrx(0): #0: hsize: 1280  vsize 1024  refresh: 60  vid: 32897
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 148.5 MHz   Image Size:  160 x 90 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1920  h_sync: 2008  h_sync_end 2052 h_blank_end 2200 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 1080  v_sync: 1084  v_sync_end 1089 v_blanking: 1125 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) fglrx(0): clock: 74.2 MHz   Image Size:  160 x 90 mm
    (II) fglrx(0): h_active: 1280  h_sync: 1390  h_sync_end 1430 h_blank_end 1650 h_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): v_active: 720  v_sync: 725  v_sync_end 730 v_blanking: 750 v_border: 0
    (II) fglrx(0): Monitor name: SAMSUNG
    (II) fglrx(0): Ranges: V min: 59  V max: 71 Hz, H min: 30  H max: 70 kHz, PixClock max 230 MHz
    (II) fglrx(0): Number of EDID sections to follow: 1
    (II) fglrx(0): EDID (in hex):
    (II) fglrx(0): 	00ffffffffffff004c2da50200000000
    (II) fglrx(0): 	2d100103801009780aaea5a6544c9926
    (II) fglrx(0): 	145054a1080081800101010101010101
    (II) fglrx(0): 	010101010101023a801871382d40582c
    (II) fglrx(0): 	4500a05a0000001e011d007251d01e20
    (II) fglrx(0): 	6e285500a05a0000001e000000fc0053
    (II) fglrx(0): 	414d53554e470a2020202020000000fd
    (II) fglrx(0): 	003b471e4617000a202020202020017c
    (II) fglrx(0): End of Display1 EDID data --------------------
    (WW) fglrx(0): Only one display is connnected,so single mode is enabled
    (II) fglrx(0): Primary Controller - DFP on secondary TMDS
    (II) fglrx(0): Internal Desktop Setting: 0x00000001
    (==) fglrx(0): Qbs is not supported in this release. Disabled.
    (==) fglrx(0): FAST_SWAP disabled
    (==) fglrx(0):  PseudoColor visuals disabled
    (**) fglrx(0): Center Mode is disabled 
    (==) fglrx(0): TMDS coherent mode is enabled 
    (II) fglrx(0): Total of 25 modes found for primary display.
    (--) fglrx(0): Virtual size is 1920x1080 (pitch 0)
    (**) fglrx(0): *Mode "1920x1080": 148.5 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 67.5 kHz, 60.0 Hz
    (II) fglrx(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x60.0  148.50  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1089 1125 (67.5 kHz)
    (**) fglrx(0):  Default mode "1920x1080": 74.2 MHz (scaled from 0.0 MHz), 33.8 kHz, 30.0 Hz (I)
    Appreciate your help
    Toxic

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toxic239 View Post
    Hi,

    I have similar issue. TV supports 1080p, but in 1920x1080 there is a blackborder and moreover part of display is hidden underneath the black border.
    The log doesn't go far enough to be sure, but it looks like you are using a custom modeline and telling the driver to ignore EDID. Is that correct ?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    The log doesn't go far enough to be sure, but it looks like you are using a custom modeline and telling the driver to ignore EDID. Is that correct ?
    Yes, I tried to fix this problem by experimenting with disabling EDID but without any luck. Even when xorg.conf doesn't have IgnoreEDID the border is still there.

    I saved full log here: http://pastebin.com/m506809df

    Thanks
    Toxic

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi

    Any ideas what I'm doing wrong ? Is there a manual to configure a non standard modeline for fglrx ?

    Thanks,
    Toxic

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Same issue here, using an HD2900Pro hooked up via DVI>HDMI to a big LCD. In Windows there is an option to change the underscaling/overscaling, not so in the Linux CCC :S

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, The Netherlands
    Posts
    42

    Default

    I have the same problem, it does seem to be bandwith related, as setting the refreshrate to 1920x1080@50Hz corrects the problem on my Sharp 32x20e (using a HD 2600 pro / DVI to HDMI)...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •