Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: X1300/8.5/DRI/Hardy/Freezes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default X1300/8.5/DRI/Hardy/Freezes

    Hello.

    I have the following hardware:

    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series]
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV516 [Radeon X1300 Pro] (Secondary)

    This is on a Dell Optilex 755.

    Ubuntu Hardy, and the closed source drivers version 8.5.

    If I start X (no clients running; not even a window manager), then I get a corrupt mouse mouse pointer (in a square region) and after several seconds the entire computer freezes.

    Turning off DRI entire solves the problem, but I want DRI on. At least on one monitor.

    I have searched these forums, so far the only problems I have noticed with X1300 cards is after X starts and when window managers start loading, but this occurs just starting X without loading any clients. I will keep searching just in case I missed something.

    I also have tried both dual-head and bigdesktop mode, both result in the system hanging.

    Unfortunately, because the system freezes rock solid, this hampers my ability to get accurate and detailed logs, however I try that again after posting this.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    Brian May

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default X1300/8.5/DRI/Hardy/Freezes

    Hello,

    Sometimes the computer reboots instead of freezing. Sometimes it won't freeze until I try to do something, eg switch virtual consoles, kill the server, or (maybe?) start a simple 2d client (e.g. ratpoison, differently nothing 3d). Not sure why it varies so much.

    I am not able to get a log file, after reboot the log file is length 0 bytes.

    I did capture the stderr output though when running it from another computer via ssh. I can't see anything abnormal here. Both screens work despite the "No matching Device" lines. At least I can move the mouse pointer from one to the other.

    === cut ===
    This is a pre-release version of the X server from The X.Org Foundation.
    It is not supported in any way.
    Bugs may be filed in the bugzilla at http://bugs.freedesktop.org/.
    Select the "xorg" product for bugs you find in this release.
    Before reporting bugs in pre-release versions please check the
    latest version in the X.Org Foundation git repository.
    See http://wiki.x.org/wiki/GitPage for git access instructions.

    X.Org X Server 1.4.0.90
    Release Date: 5 September 2007
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: Linux Ubuntu (xorg-server 2:1.4.1~git20080131-1ubuntu9)
    Current Operating System: Linux oncilla 2.6.24-16-generic #1 SMP Thu Apr 10 12:47:45 UTC 2008 x86_64
    Build Date: 15 April 2008 05:41:18PM

    Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
    to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Module Loader present
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun May 25 10:02:31 2008
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
    (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:1) found
    (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:1) found
    (II) Module "ddc" already built-in
    (II) Module "ramdac" already built-in
    [atiddx] ASYNCIO init succeed!
    Receive enable interrupt ret message
    ...irqEnableMask: 20008000
    ...dwIRQEnableId: 00000008
    Receive enable interrupt ret message
    ...irqEnableMask: 10000000
    ...dwIRQEnableId: 00000009
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdLightOnOff: line 70 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessDown: line 71 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessUp: line 72 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdLightOnOff: line 70 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessDown: line 71 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessUp: line 72 of pc
    fglrx: the hardware is not in an accelerator mode, command submission falied
    === cut ===

    Note, the last line didn't appear until I pushed Alt+F1 to switch to a text console. The computer crashed about the same time.

    Brian May

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default X1300/8.5/DRI/Hardy/Freezes

    Hello,

    Sometimes the computer reboots instead of freezing. Sometimes it won't freeze until I try to do something, eg switch virtual consoles, kill the server, or (maybe?) start a simple 2d client (e.g. ratpoison, differently nothing 3d). Not sure why it varies so much.

    I am not able to get a log file, after reboot the log file is length 0 bytes.

    I did capture the stderr output though when running it from another computer via ssh. I can't see anything abnormal here. Both screens work despite the "No matching Device" lines. At least I can move the mouse pointer from one to the other.

    === cut ===
    This is a pre-release version of the X server from The X.Org Foundation.
    It is not supported in any way.
    Bugs may be filed in the bugzilla at http://bugs.freedesktop.org/.
    Select the "xorg" product for bugs you find in this release.
    Before reporting bugs in pre-release versions please check the
    latest version in the X.Org Foundation git repository.
    See http://wiki.x.org/wiki/GitPage for git access instructions.

    X.Org X Server 1.4.0.90
    Release Date: 5 September 2007
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
    Build Operating System: Linux Ubuntu (xorg-server 2:1.4.1~git20080131-1ubuntu9)
    Current Operating System: Linux oncilla 2.6.24-16-generic #1 SMP Thu Apr 10 12:47:45 UTC 2008 x86_64
    Build Date: 15 April 2008 05:41:18PM

    Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
    to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Module Loader present
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun May 25 10:02:31 2008
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
    (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:1) found
    (WW) fglrx: No matching Device section for instance (BusID PCI:1:0:1) found
    (II) Module "ddc" already built-in
    (II) Module "ramdac" already built-in
    [atiddx] ASYNCIO init succeed!
    Receive enable interrupt ret message
    ...irqEnableMask: 20008000
    ...dwIRQEnableId: 00000008
    Receive enable interrupt ret message
    ...irqEnableMask: 10000000
    ...dwIRQEnableId: 00000009
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdLightOnOff: line 70 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessDown: line 71 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessUp: line 72 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdLightOnOff: line 70 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessDown: line 71 of pc
    expected keysym, got XF86KbdBrightnessUp: line 72 of pc
    fglrx: the hardware is not in an accelerator mode, command submission falied
    === cut ===

    Note, the last line didn't appear until I pushed Alt+F1 to switch to a text console. The computer crashed about the same time.

    Brian May

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default re: X1300/8.5/DRI/Hardy/Freezes

    Quote Originally Posted by brian.may View Post
    Hello,

    Sometimes the computer reboots instead of freezing. Sometimes it won't freeze until I try to do something, eg switch virtual consoles, kill the server, or (maybe?) start a simple 2d client (e.g. ratpoison, differently nothing 3d). Not sure why it varies so much....

    Brian May
    I have the same problem. Have you found any resolution?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I have the same situation on the same model, optiplex 755 with a X1300 Pro.

    Have you figured out a solution?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default work around

    Quote Originally Posted by gerrickw View Post
    I have the same situation on the same model, optiplex 755 with a X1300 Pro.

    Have you figured out a solution?
    I replaced the card with a Asus nVidia GeForce 8500GT 512MB Silent (EN8500GTSLN-HTD-512) <http://www.digiworld.com.au/product.info.asp?Product_ID=3934>, replaced the ATI drivers with nvidia ones, and now it works fine...

    Ok, probably not the solution you were looking for :-(.

    Brian May

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brian.may View Post
    I replaced the card with a Asus nVidia GeForce 8500GT 512MB Silent (EN8500GTSLN-HTD-512) <http://www.digiworld.com.au/product.info.asp?Product_ID=3934>, replaced the ATI drivers with nvidia ones, and now it works fine...

    Ok, probably not the solution you were looking for :-(.

    Brian May
    Way ahead of you... I've been using another old 2D card with different drivers whenever I really need stability (most of the time). I was just hoping that I might be able to actually use the x1550 at some point, since I spent my hard earned (and somewhat scarce) cash on it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brian.may View Post
    I replaced the card with a Asus nVidia GeForce 8500GT 512MB Silent (EN8500GTSLN-HTD-512) <http://www.digiworld.com.au/product.info.asp?Product_ID=3934>, replaced the ATI drivers with nvidia ones, and now it works fine...

    Ok, probably not the solution you were looking for :-(.

    Brian May
    I may have found a solution. I added the following boot options to the end of the "kernel" parameters line in /boot/grub/menu.lst:

    pci=nomsi irqpoll

    I've only done this late last night, but so far, things that would normally cause an almost instant lockup / or reboot have been working really great.

    I'm compelled to admit that I also made some changes to the BIOS settings. I'm using a Biostar TA770 A2+, and have increased the CPU Voltage and Northbridge Voltages to the next highest selections (just above the defaults). Given this, it's hard to say which changes actually helped - perhaps the combination of changes.

    If it's able to stay up for a solid week, I'll work on narrowing it down, reverting back to the defaults - one change at at time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •