Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dual Monitor problem on HD3450/RS780/RS690

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default Dual Monitor problem on HD3450/RS780/RS690

    Since radeonhd 1.2.4 (including the upgrade 1.2.4-1) came to jaunty Alpha 4 the outputs of my HD3450 became locked together with any xrandr command. See example below. I have two motherboards one with RS690 and the other with RS780. I switched between radeon and radeonhd. Both motherboards and drivers produce similar results.

    Currently my xorg.cong is stipped with only a virtual subsection being added to allow the monitor to be moved out of the default 1360x1360 area.

    What direction should I concentrate my research effort to solve this problem? a) expanded xorg.conf, b) use extended R6xx code, c) x.org git driver.

    Suggestions?

    mur@ubuntu1:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1152 x 864, maximum 2704 x 1050
    VGA_1 connected 1152x864+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1152x864 60.0*+
    1360x768 59.8
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9
    DVI-D_1 disconnected
    DVI-I_2/digital disconnected
    DVI-I_2/analog connected 1152x864+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1152x864 60.0*+
    1360x768 59.8
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9
    mur@ubuntu1:~$ xrandr --output DVI-I_2/analog --mode 1024x768
    mur@ubuntu1:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1152 x 864, maximum 2704 x 1050
    VGA_1 connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1152x864 60.0 +
    1360x768 59.8
    1024x768 60.0*
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9
    DVI-D_1 disconnected
    DVI-I_2/digital disconnected
    DVI-I_2/analog connected 1024x768+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1152x864 60.0 +
    1360x768 59.8
    1024x768 60.0*
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    I have heard a few people mention similar problems recently.

    Since radeon and radeonhd have fairly different modesetting code if both of them suddenly broke then it sounds more like xserver than driver.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default Why x-server related?

    The major change between working and not working may be related to OPTION "HPD" "off" which is now depeciated.

    X-server went from rc1 to rc2
    kernel from 2.6.28-4 to 2.6.28-8
    radeonhd from 1.2.4 to 1.2.4-1

    The last time both monitors worked:
    2.6.28-4-generic #11-Ubuntu SMP Fri Jan 16 21:50:52 UTC 2009 x86_64
    xorg-server 2:1.5.99.901-0ubuntu1 (buildd@crested.buildd)
    (II) RADEONHD: version 1.2.4, built from dist of git branch master, commit 4e897263

    (--) RADEONHD(0): Detected an RV620 on an unidentified card
    (II) RADEONHD(0): Mapped IO @ 0xfdde0000 to 0x7f17389e1000 (size 0x00010000)
    (II) RADEONHD(0): PCIE Card Detected
    (II) RADEONHD(0): Getting BIOS copy from legacy VBIOS location
    (II) RADEONHD(0): ATOM BIOS Rom:
    SubsystemVendorID: 0x1787 SubsystemID: 0x2252
    IOBaseAddress: 0xee00
    Filename: Test.bin
    BIOS Bootup Message: RV620 GDDR2_64BIT 81129OAH.SEK

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "HD3450"
    Driver "radeonhd"
    BusID "PCI:2:0:0"
    Option "HPD" "off"
    EndSection

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default Fixed - almost

    I did a fresh install of jaunty alpha 5 and went thru the python problems
    x-server 1.5.99.902-7
    libxrandr 1.2.99.4-2

    The radeon driver (6.11.0-2) now ignores my second monitor.

    The radeonhd driver (1.2.4-2) not only fixes the problem, the sharpness of my LCD monitor has improved significantly.

    The screens are now swapped (i.e. right-of produces left-of). In the past this was fixed by OPTION "HPD" "off"


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,320

    Default

    Please file bugs (https://bugs.freedesktop.org) and attach your xorg logs and configs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default Fixed - again

    See Bug report 20407 for more details.

    x-server 1.6.0
    libxrandr 1.2.99.4-2
    radeonhd 1.2.4-2

    The radeon driver (6.11.0-5) still ignores my second monitor.

    Using radeonhd driver and OPTION "HPD" "off", DVI-D_1 now appears.

    mur@ubuntu2:~$ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 2704 x 1050
    VGA_1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 260mm x 195mm
    1280x1024 60.0*+
    1152x864 75.0
    1024x768 75.1 70.1 60.0 43.5
    832x624 74.6
    800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
    640x480 75.0 72.8 66.7 60.0
    720x400 87.8 70.1
    DVI-D_1 connected 1280x1024+0+0 260mm x 195mm
    1280x1024 60.0*+
    1152x864 75.0
    1024x768 75.1 70.1 60.0 43.5
    832x624 74.6
    800x600 72.2 75.0 60.3 56.2
    640x480 75.0 72.8 66.7 60.0
    720x400 87.8 70.1
    DVI-I_2/digital disconnected
    DVI-I_2/analog connected 1152x864+0+0 0mm x 0mm
    1360x768 59.8
    1152x864 60.0*
    1024x768 60.0
    800x600 60.3
    640x480 59.9

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    34

    Default Fixed - Best results with

    x-server 2:1.6.0-0ubuntu1
    libxrandr 2:1.2.99.4-2
    radeonhd 1.2.4+git2009031

    I get the best results with

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "HD3450"
    Driver "radeonhd"
    Option "monitor-VGA_1" "Daytek LCD TV"
    Option "monitor-DVI-I_2/analog" "Daytek 17 inch CRT"
    Option "RROutputOrder" "Daytek LCD TV"
    Option "DRI"
    EndSection

    The Option "HPD" "off" is no longer required.

    My server layout section seems to be ignored.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •