Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Compiz 0.7.6 Released, New Improvements

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,561

    Default Compiz 0.7.6 Released, New Improvements

    Phoronix: Compiz 0.7.6 Released, New Improvements

    Just shy of two months since Compiz 0.7.4 was released, Compiz 0.7.6 is now available. This update has a rewritten Place plug-in to dramatically improve multi-output behavior, configurable multi-output behavior, removed plane plug-in in favor of the wall plug-in, removed cube wallpaper painting in favor of the Compiz Fusion wallpaper plug-in, panel and desktop selection mode is now available in the switcher plug-in, and improved painting behavior...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NjQ5Mw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,123

    Default

    Always had problems with it running on KDE... it was ok when it worked though.

    KWin4 ran without a single problem since its first beta releases, so I think I'll just sit and wait for KDE 4.1 and use the desktop effects that come with it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    677

    Default

    I'd say you're missing out on a lot (I'll try kwin again though when they make a release for "end users").

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Workspace Switcher Applet

    Have they fixed the integration with GNOME's Workspace Switcher applet? This is the only thing stopping from using compiz

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    677

    Default

    I'd say yes, and ages ago... at least clicking on a workspace in the applet now properly twists the cubde to the edge in 8.04.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    95

    Default

    phible: To an extent it has been fixed. The only thing that doesn't work for me is drag/drop window placement within the switcher, but the Expo plugin is so much nicer for that task

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default

    @lem79
    wow, thanks for the answer, going to install now.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    /dev/random
    Posts
    218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by phible View Post
    Have they fixed the integration with GNOME's Workspace Switcher applet? This is the only thing stopping from using compiz
    That can't be fixed from compiz, compiz uses viewports, metacity uses workspaces, they work very differently from each other

    Ir recommend using a different pager/workspace-switcher from awn or kiba-dock

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •