Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Two X-Servers?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default Two X-Servers?

    I'm surprised there's not already a thread about this in the forum...

    When I'm using fglrx two X-Servers are started which both consume the same amount of memory, though one of them seems to be doing nothing. Killing the second one (higher Pid) does'nt cause any problems, so I wonder why it's started? I've only got one Display, so I have no use for the second X Server. Googling only brought up this.
    So is this normal behaviour (and is this going to be fixed?) or is there something wrong with my xorg.conf (http://pastebin.com/m571a94a7)?
    Last edited by Zhick; 06-13-2008 at 02:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    56

    Default

    same behavior here!! WTF!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    I didn't think we supported multiple X servers today. We do support multiple screens with a single X server -- I think one of our guys called it "Big Desktop".

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Well, what ever that second X Server is started for, I don't want/need it and it should'nt be started in the first place. I dunno how common this is, but I'm obviously not the only one who's experiencing this.
    Edit: Btw, when I'm using the radeon-driver there's only one X server running.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    321

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I didn't think we supported multiple X servers today. We do support multiple screens with a single X server -- I think one of our guys called it "Big Desktop".
    this actually seems to be the default behavior of ati's driver since back at 8.40.x series if i recall properly... i always wound up having 2 xservers running after i installed the ati driver.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    /dev/hell
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I didn't think we supported multiple X servers today. We do support multiple screens with a single X server -- I think one of our guys called it "Big Desktop".
    Hey! bridgman! :-P please, don't make fun of us! we have this issue, it ain't funny! :-P :-D

    well it's a bit funny... but i'd like it to be solved :-P i don't think it's more than trivial. ain't it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    OK, I get it. Sorry, I thought you were deliberately starting multiple X servers (some drivers like that kind of thing).

    Can someone pls post an x.conf file so I know how this is happening ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    There's a a link to my xorg.conf in my first post.
    Anyway, here it,s again.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112

    Default

    Is fglrx a driver for the X Window System? If so then why doesn't it support multiple X Servers like the X Window System does?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    321

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oblivious_maximus View Post
    Is fglrx a driver for the X Window System? If so then why doesn't it support multiple X Servers like the X Window System does?

    The issue is that it does support multiple servers, however the problem is that just by virtue of installing and running the driver you wind up with 2 X Servers all the time, even when you didn't intend to.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •