Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 158

Thread: AMD Catalyst 8.6 Linux Driver

  1. #131
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks, that was it!

    I had an additional 1M window below the 512 Block for the Graphics board, wich is now lost. Well.

    The funny thing is, that i fixed this now for my computer for a colleague who is sitting there at my home, i am in the office. I will see the success in some hours..

    Again, many thanks,

    Ingo

  2. #132

    Default

    This is annoying.. I setup a MythTV backend and it streams nicely. Video is ok - I can watch TV for hours without a problem... until I switch channels. Sometimes, not always, video gets corrupted like in this screenshot:



    Restarting the frontend fixes it. Is there anything I can do about it?

  3. #133
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default Compiz tips

    I am really getting sick of it.
    Here's my hardware.
    VisionTek ATi 2600 512mb ram
    Q6600 OC 3.2
    8gb DDR2 800
    X38 Gigabyte mobo.

    I can't get Compiz to run.
    Im open to putting any distro on it.
    I want Compiz and my funky windows.

    Can anyone help here?
    I am setting it up as a learning server, gotta tune up my skills.
    I do want my fun stuff though.

    Thanks

  4. #134
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,284

    Default

    RupanIII, what is the actual problem or error message you are getting, and which distro are you running today ?

  5. #135
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I dont know, maybe my problem is small compared to the rest of the world, but it is a problem nevertheless. I want to know why fglrxinfo gives different output depending on whether Xgl is running or not.
    -----------------------------------------------------

    This post is from Ask ATI dev thread, I hope someone tells me what I am doing wrong.

    I am asking this question again to see if I am the only on facing this problem. Also, I have used AIGLX, and somehow it is not making me very happy.

    I just installed ubuntu 8.04, Hardy Heron on my T60. I have dumped the output of fglrxinfo with and without Xgl. As can be seen clearly, there is a problem in getting good performance when running Xgl.

    Code:

    fglrxinfo : Xgl running

    display: :3.0 screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
    OpenGL version string: 1.2 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.3)



    glxgears
    1015 frames in 5.0 seconds = 202.531 FPS

    verma@nirvana ~ $ ps -ealf | grep Xgl
    0 S sverma 10624 10523 0 80 0 - 443 - 16:44 ? 00:00:00 /bin/sh /usr/share/xserver-xgl/Xgl-lockfile-wrapper :3 -accel xvbuffer -accel glxbuffer -nolisten tcp -fullscreen -br +xinerama
    0 S sverma 10631 10624 11 80 0 - 22177 - 16:44 ? 00:00:14 Xgl :3 -accel xvbuffer -accel glxbuffer -nolisten tcp -fullscreen -br +xinerama

    AIGLX enabled, Xgl disabled:
    Code:

    Xgl disabled, AIGLX enabled:
    sverma@nirvana ~ $ ps -ealf | grep Xgl
    0 S sverma 11580 11561 0 80 0 - 751 - 16:47 pts/0 00:00:00 grep --color=tty -d skip Xgl
    sverma@nirvana ~ $ fglrxinfo
    display: :0.0 screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
    OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon X1400
    OpenGL version string: 2.1.7412 Release

    -glxgears
    22065 frames in 5.0 seconds = 4412.956 FPS


    Also, I am going to try using an older version (0.6) of compiz to see if that could be the reason behind the problem. When I do a dmesg, I saw a segfault with compiz.real when Xgl is enabled, this is not seen when Xgl is disabled.
    Code:

    dmesg -> Xgl enabled
    [ 2537.096276] [fglrx:firegl_lock] *ERROR* Process 15972 is using illegal context 0x00000006
    [ 2537.116248] compiz.real[16112]: segfault at 01c30050 eip 08055a80 esp bfe86330 error 4

    I had same problem with T60p. Also, this problem was not seen in 8.40.4 driver, but that does not install on newer distros, openSUSE 11.0 or ubuntu 8.04.

    BTW, I know that the slow performance is/might be because of Mesa 3d libs being used and not ATI libs. I want to know _why_ that is happening.

    I am sorry if the query sounds all over the place.

    Thanks

  6. #136
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    /dev/hell
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Upgrading to xserver 1.4.2 I got this message in Xorg.0.log

    Code:
    AUDIT: Tue Jul  8 14:18:10 2008: 2230 X: client 2 rejected from local host (uid 1000)
      Auth name: MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 ID: -1
    what does it mean?

  7. #137
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    93

    Default

    I still can not start X with catalyst 8.6.
    I tried the 0706 and the new 0803 BIOS of my motherboard with no success (computer freezes when X is started).
    My /proc/mttr looks like this.
    Is there something I should change/write to mtrr?
    (I also attached the atigetsysteminfo report made after the reboot from the cat 8.6 crash)

    Code:
    0706 BIOS
    reg00: base=0x00000000 (   0MB), size=4096MB: write-back, count=1
    reg01: base=0x100000000 (4096MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
    reg02: base=0x120000000 (4608MB), size= 256MB: write-back, count=1
    reg03: base=0xd0000000 (3328MB), size= 256MB: uncachable, count=1
    reg04: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size= 512MB: uncachable, count=1
    
    0803 BIOS
    reg00: base=0x00000000 (   0MB), size=4096MB: write-back, count=1
    reg01: base=0x100000000 (4096MB), size= 512MB: write-back, count=1
    reg02: base=0x120000000 (4608MB), size= 256MB: write-back, count=1
    reg03: base=0xd0000000 (3328MB), size= 256MB: uncachable, count=1
    reg04: base=0xe0000000 (3584MB), size= 512MB: uncachable, count=1
    
    
    ATI System configuration report started Thu Jul 10 23:37:55 CEST 2008 on musashi.
    
    ==========uname -a==========
    Linux musashi 2.6.25.9-0.2-default #1 SMP 2008-06-28 00:00:07 +0200 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
    
    
    ==========/etc/SuSE-release (23:04)==========
    openSUSE 11.0 (X86-64)
    VERSION = 11.0
    
    
    ==========/proc/version (23:37)==========
    Linux version 2.6.25.9-0.2-default (geeko@buildhost) (gcc version 4.3.1 20080507 (prerelease) [gcc-4_3-branch revision 135036] (SUSE Linux) ) #1 SMP 2008-06-28 00:00:07 +0200
    
    
    ==========gcc --version==========
    gcc (SUSE Linux) 4.3.1 20080507 (prerelease) [gcc-4_3-branch revision 135036]
    Copyright (C) 2008 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.  There is NO
    warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
    
    
    ==========/usr/bin/fglrxinfo==========
    Error: unable to open display (null)
    
    
    ==========ldd /usr/bin/fglrxinfo==========
    	linux-vdso.so.1 =>  (0x00007fff81ffe000)
    	libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib64/xorg/libGL.so.1 (0x00007fbf79c81000)
    	libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libX11.so.6 (0x00007fbf798bb000)
    	libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libXext.so.6 (0x00007fbf796a9000)
    	libc.so.6 => /lib64/libc.so.6 (0x00007fbf79350000)
    	libpthread.so.0 => /lib64/libpthread.so.0 (0x00007fbf79134000)
    	libxcb-xlib.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libxcb-xlib.so.0 (0x00007fbf78f32000)
    	libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libxcb.so.1 (0x00007fbf78d16000)
    	libdl.so.2 => /lib64/libdl.so.2 (0x00007fbf78b12000)
    	libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libXau.so.6 (0x00007fbf7890f000)
    	/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007fbf79bf8000)
    
    
    
    ==========ENVIRONMENT VARIABLES==========
    
    $PATH=/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/local/sbin:/root/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/opt/kde3/bin:/usr/lib64/jvm/jre/bin:/usr/lib/mit/bin:/usr/lib/mit/sbin:/usr/lib/qt3/bin
    
    $LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/xorg:/usr/lib64/xorg
    
    $LD_CONFIG_PATH=
    
    $LIBGL_DRIVERS_PATH=/usr/lib/dri:/usr/lib64/dri
    
    
    
    ==========PROC DEVICES==========
    
    
    ==========/proc/cpuinfo (23:37)==========
    processor	: 0
    vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
    cpu family	: 6
    model		: 23
    model name	: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           X3350  @ 2.66GHz
    stepping	: 7
    cpu MHz		: 2003.000
    cache size	: 6144 KB
    physical id	: 0
    siblings	: 4
    core id		: 0
    cpu cores	: 4
    fpu		: yes
    fpu_exception	: yes
    cpuid level	: 10
    wp		: yes
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good pni monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr sse4_1 lahf_lm
    bogomips	: 7204.52
    clflush size	: 64
    cache_alignment	: 64
    address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    
    processor	: 1
    vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
    cpu family	: 6
    model		: 23
    model name	: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           X3350  @ 2.66GHz
    stepping	: 7
    cpu MHz		: 2003.000
    cache size	: 6144 KB
    physical id	: 0
    siblings	: 4
    core id		: 1
    cpu cores	: 4
    fpu		: yes
    fpu_exception	: yes
    cpuid level	: 10
    wp		: yes
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good pni monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr sse4_1 lahf_lm
    bogomips	: 7200.05
    clflush size	: 64
    cache_alignment	: 64
    address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    
    processor	: 2
    vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
    cpu family	: 6
    model		: 23
    model name	: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           X3350  @ 2.66GHz
    stepping	: 7
    cpu MHz		: 2003.000
    cache size	: 6144 KB
    physical id	: 0
    siblings	: 4
    core id		: 2
    cpu cores	: 4
    fpu		: yes
    fpu_exception	: yes
    cpuid level	: 10
    wp		: yes
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good pni monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr sse4_1 lahf_lm
    bogomips	: 7200.06
    clflush size	: 64
    cache_alignment	: 64
    address sizes	: 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
    power management:
    
    processor	: 3
    vendor_id	: GenuineIntel
    cpu family	: 6
    model		: 23
    model name	: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           X3350  @ 2.66GHz
    stepping	: 7
    cpu MHz		: 2003.000
    cache size	: 6144 KB
    physical id	: 0
    siblings	: 4
    core id		: 3
    cpu cores	: 4
    fpu		: yes
    fpu_exception	: yes
    cpuid level	: 10
    wp		: yes
    flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good pni monitor ds_cpl vmx smx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr sse4_1 lahf_lm
    bogomips	: 7200.07
    clflush size	: 64
    cache_alignment	: 64
    a


    System:
    openSUSE 11.0 64bit
    ASUS P5Q-E (Intel P45)
    Intel X3350
    2x2GB RAM
    ATI 3850 (512MB)

  8. #138

    Default

    You're /proc/mtrr is messed up. I have a P45 (Asus P5Q Pro) motherboard as well and I also experience this problem. You can try taking out 1 stick of RAM to verify this. The following script is what I use to fix my MTRR on bootup. It looks like it should work for you, too, since you are using 4GB RAM with a 512MB GPU.

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    echo "disable=0" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "disable=1" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "disable=2" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "disable=3" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "disable=4" >| /proc/mtrr
    
    echo "base=0x00000000 size=0x80000000 type=write-back" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "base=0x80000000 size=0x40000000 type=write-back" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "base=0xc0000000 size=0x10000000 type=write-back" >| /proc/mtrr
    
    echo "base=0xd0000000 size=0x10000000 type=uncachable" >| /proc/mtrr
    
    echo "base=0x100000000 size=0x20000000 type=write-back" >| /proc/mtrr
    echo "base=0x120000000 size=0x10000000 type=write-back" >| /proc/mtrr

  9. #139
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,284

    Default

    Also, if you see a BIOS option like "remap upper RAM" or anything related to mapping and RAM, turn it off. That might let you run with both sticks of RAM although you will only get about 3400MB useable.

  10. #140

    Default

    bridgman, When I use disable memory re-mapping in my BIOS, my system becomes unusably slow. I don't even have the patience to wait through a bootup, to see if fglrx works with it disabled.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •