Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Radeon x550/x700 Dri with radeon driver?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Alex, that looks very relevant to what I'm facing.
    So I guess X is detecting the right chip, though the text is wrong (should be R410) but the drm modules don't seem to think my card is supported.

    Interestingly, I tried another linux before and had glxinfo report "dri yes" and glegears report great framerates but the gears weren't animating at all!

    So I have to rebuild DRM or find a repository with newer debian packages?
    I already have the most up-to-date versions in the ubuntu repositories.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Are you sure you removed every left overs from fglrx? You can not use the mesa libs when fglrx is installed - as those are replaced.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Initially, when DRI wouldn't work, I tried fglrx in ubuntu once and it crashed my computer (reboot on login). I have since wiped my disk and installed windows 2000 to see how the card is recognized there. I then installed a fresh ubuntu 8.04 x86_64 on another partition. Ubuntu doesn't install proprietary drivers like fglrx by default.

    In any event, I did an apt-get remove on xorg-driver-fglrx and it said it was not installed so not removed. Restricted drievr manager in ubuntu says it's not enabled. lsmod doesn't list anything related to fglrx.

    If it's on there, I have no clue where it's hiding.
    So I have to conclude I'm fglrx free but that there's a bug in radeon or the card is unsupported. All indications are that it should be supported but DRI is being disabled consistently.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Inspect your system log and search for [drm] Initialized radeon if you don't see this it means that somehow you drm/radeon module is too old. If you see this, inspect Xorg.log and search for Direct rendering enabled if you don't see direct rendering enabled it should give you a reason why. If you got direct rendering enabled in Xorg log do LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo and look at top of the output it should tell you what is wrong.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glisse View Post
    Inspect your system log and search for [drm] Initialized radeon if you don't see this it means that somehow you drm/radeon module is too old. If you see this, inspect Xorg.log and search for Direct rendering enabled if you don't see direct rendering enabled it should give you a reason why. If you got direct rendering enabled in Xorg log do LIBGL_DEBUG=verbose glxinfo and look at top of the output it should tell you what is wrong.
    dmesg | grep drm :
    41.264966] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    Initialised drm but nothing about radeon

    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i "direct rendering"
    (WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
    Also:

    (EE) RADEON(0): [dri] RADEONDRIGetVersion failed to open the DRM
    [dri] Disabling DRI.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marq View Post
    dmesg | grep drm :


    Initialised drm but nothing about radeon

    cat /var/log/Xorg.0.log | grep -i "direct rendering"


    Also:

    Then obviously you don't have recent enough radeon kernel module triple check that you installed radeon compiled from git in the proper directory you need to see the line i did give.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    OK, I'm using the standard versions that come with Ubuntu Hardy x86_64.
    I guess I will need to build to see if I can get DRI going.
    I found some instructions at:

    http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/Building

    I'll attempt and report back.
    Thanks a lot for all the help diagnosing this.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    PL
    Posts
    912

    Default

    So I guess X is detecting the right chip, though the text is wrong (should be R410) but the drm modules don't seem to think my card is supported.
    i think it was fixed in git yesterday.

    somebody did a typo in pciids.

    http://gitweb.freedesktop.org/?p=mes...fcc2e76db3492e

    http://gitweb.freedesktop.org/?p=xor...d3851f5fb21ca3

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    The guide suggests that to use the latest DRM modules I should have Xserver 1.5. My Xorg log is reporting version 1.4.0.90. I was hoping I wouldn't have to touch the other parts of Xorg. It seems like a full upgrade from xorg 7.3 to xorg 7.4 will be needed.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,514

    Default

    I'm pretty sure you need the new X server in order to get AIGLX, which you'll want for Compiz. I thought it was mesa not drm which had the X server dependency but not 100% sure.

    Alex (agd5f) mentioned a while back that it should be pretty easy to patch the files which were modified to support 5xx back into an earlier version of mesa which does not require the latest X server -- I'll check next week and see if this is the case. If so, will see if we can either post instructions or an actual patch.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •