Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Changing from fullscreen to Windowed in some games makes screen go crazy..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default Changing from fullscreen to Windowed in some games makes screen go crazy..

    Hi,
    I have an ATI X1650 Pro, with Catalyst 8.6 on Mandriva 2008 Spring.
    In some games, mainly Regnum Online, when I press Alt+Enter to change to Windowed mode, the screen goes crazy. I'm not sure how to describe it, but it looks like it's really messed up, two screens forced beside each other, and some wierd tiling effect. I will try to take a screenshot later.
    My xorg.conf:
    Code:
    # File generated by XFdrake (rev 234840)
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Refer to the xorg.conf man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        #DontZap # disable <Ctrl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
        AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
        #DontZoom # disable <Ctrl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
        Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
        Load "extmod"
        Load "type1"
        Load "freetype"
        Load "glx" # 3D layer
        Load "dri" # direct rendering
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard1"
        Driver "kbd"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option "XkbLayout" "us,ara(digits)"
        Option "XkbOptions" "grp:alt_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll,compose:rwin"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Mouse1"
        Driver "mouse"
        Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
        Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "monitor1"
        VendorName "Generic"
        ModelName "1280x1024 @ 60 Hz"
        HorizSync 31.5-64.3
        VertRefresh 50-70
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "device1"
        VendorName "ATI Technologies Inc"
        BoardName "ATI Radeon X1300 and later"
        Driver "fglrx"
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        Option "DPMS"
        Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "on" 
        Option "TexturedVideo" "on"
        Option "TexturedVideoSync" "on"
        Option "VideoOverlay" "off"
        Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
        Option "Textured2D" "on" 
        Option "TexturedXrender" "off"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "screen1"
        Device "device1"
        Monitor "monitor1"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 8
            Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 15
            Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 16
            Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 24
            Modes "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "layout1"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        Option "AIGLX" "on"
        Screen "screen1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
        Option "DAMAGE" "Enable"
    #    Option "RENDER" "Enable"
        Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    Mode 0666
    EndSection
    Is there anything I can do to fix this?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,285

    Default

    Option "Textured2D" "on"
    Maybe try turning Textured2D off ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    5

    Default I'm getting the same issue

    I start both my applications (Warcraft III and WoW) in fullscreen ( no switching ) and I get this dual-checkerbox display i.e. two copies of the same window side-by-side but sort of checkerboxed.

    I tried taking a screenshot (using scrot), but I actually got a normal image!!! i.e. what I would have seen if there was no issue.

    I don't have a digital camera handy or I would have taken a picture

    My xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "Simple Layout"
    	Screen      0  "Screen 1" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    	Option	    "AIGLX" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "dbe"  	# Double buffer extension
    	SubSection "extmod"
    		Option	    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    	EndSubSection
    	Load  "freetype"
    	Load  "glx"
    	Load  "dri"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    	Option	    "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    	Option	    "XkbRules" "xorg"
    	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
    	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse1"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "Auto"	# Auto detect
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Syncmaster"
    	DisplaySize  270	203
    	VertRefresh  60.0 - 75.0
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "X1250"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	Option	    "UseFastTLS" "2"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen 1"
    	Device     "X1250"
    	Monitor    "Syncmaster"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Mode         0666
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option	    "Composite" "true"
    EndSection
    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LordRaiden View Post
    I start both my applications (Warcraft III and WoW) in fullscreen ( no switching ) and I get this dual-checkerbox display i.e. two copies of the same window side-by-side but sort of checkerboxed.

    I tried taking a screenshot (using scrot), but I actually got a normal image!!! i.e. what I would have seen if there was no issue.

    I don't have a digital camera handy or I would have taken a picture

    My xorg.conf

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "Simple Layout"
    	Screen      0  "Screen 1" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    	Option	    "AIGLX" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "dbe"  	# Double buffer extension
    	SubSection "extmod"
    		Option	    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    	EndSubSection
    	Load  "freetype"
    	Load  "glx"
    	Load  "dri"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    	Option	    "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    	Option	    "XkbRules" "xorg"
    	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
    	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse1"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "Auto"	# Auto detect
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Syncmaster"
    	DisplaySize  270	203
    	VertRefresh  60.0 - 75.0
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "X1250"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	Option	    "UseFastTLS" "2"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen 1"
    	Device     "X1250"
    	Monitor    "Syncmaster"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    		Modes    "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Mode         0666
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option	    "Composite" "true"
    EndSection
    Thanks in advance
    Yeah that's exactly what I meant!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Maybe try turning Textured2D off ?
    Still same problem :/
    Also, this only happened to me with Catalyst 8.6, not before.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    I guess I've got the same problem. Happens when I use OpenGl as video-plugin in kaffeine (xine-backend) and switch from fullscreen to window. I took a picture:
    http://img365.imageshack.us/my.php?i...sc00064bm3.jpg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    68

    Default

    Yeah, this has been happening to me since I got the new driver too.
    Whenever an application changes the screen resolution it happens. It forced me to load every application in windowed mode which is fine.
    Changing the resolution after doesn't help, but resetting x does.
    Heres a photo



    Other than that regression though, 8.6 for me is the best change yet, as some games actually work now!
    Last edited by poofyyoda; 06-28-2008 at 05:55 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    I just discovered that this does not happen when I set Option "UseFastTLS" "0" in my xorg.conf
    Edit: No wait, that's not what fixed it. Then it's fixed by upgrading to X Server 1.4.2, since that's the only other thing I've changed (I had previously downgraded to X Server 1.3.0 for testing purposes).
    Last edited by Zhick; 06-27-2008 at 01:20 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Hm... 1.4.2 is not what fixed it as well. When I today downgraded my X Server to 1.4.2 (previously Git + Radeon) and started using fglrx, the bug was there again...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •