Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: suspend with radeon vs radeonhd

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default suspend with radeon vs radeonhd

    Hi All,

    I'm using gutsy on a macbook pro and suspend/resume seems to be stable with radeonhd (though not with fglrx). I'm not yet sure how stable but I'm trying to do everything to minimize risk of a crash since I have a mounted unjournaled HFS partition and want to avoid data corruption. On the other hand I would like to have 3d support and from what I understand the radeon driver does have some support for this.

    My first question is if the radeon driver is likely to be less stable than radeonhd (especially the newest version including 3d support). Has anyone tested suspend/resume with this extensively? Second, is 3d support on the radeon sufficient to run compiz ;-> The card on my machine is a X1600 mobility.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    297

    Default

    On my R480 Suspend/Resume works flawlessly.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mattst88 View Post
    On my R480 Suspend/Resume works flawlessly.
    Which driver are you using?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,328

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dpope View Post
    Which driver are you using?
    Only radeon supports r480 chips.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Yes, with radeon. I thought this was what you were asking.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mattst88 View Post
    Yes, with radeon. I thought this was what you were asking.
    Sorry I wasn't very clear in my initial post. I am asking about the radeon driver but I'm not asking about the stock (older) driver so much as the newest vesion with 3d support for r5xx cards (X1000 series). I would like to know if this version has stable suspend/resume.

    Since you have an older card, mattst88, I guess you're probably using an older stable version of the radeon driver. I would like to know about the bleeding edge driver. But thanks for your response ;->

    Anyone using radeon with r5xx and 3-d support? If so is suspend/resume stable?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    Question

    I am also using a macbook pro (X1600). I recently switched to radeon 6.9.0 with x11-drm from git (which not only includes 3d support but vblank!) and that gives me compiz with wonderful video playing capabilities: no more flickering playing video within a video _while_ using compiz, WONDERFUL.

    But I can't get suspend to work.

    With fglrx the trick for me was one quirk, acpi video flags s3 bios. With that I had reliable suspend/resume, from X, and with a simple
    'echo -n mem > /sys/power/state'

    What are you guys using with radeon to suspend on a r500? Anyone doing it on a macbook pro?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    76

    Default

    I got a X1650 card, suspend works flawlessly and reliably, only with framebuffer disabled however (still tinkering to try to get it working with fancy boot screen, but it's not like I need it :P ).

    If your worried about your HFS partition, write a script to umount it before suspending until you know you can trust it.

    or atleast do a sync; sync before suspending, that's what I do personally

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    8

    Default

    You got me!
    No matter whether I use framebuffer or not. But for me it was worse without it, I always got blank VTs.
    What versions of packages are you using?
    And how do you exactly resume? pm-utils?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    403

    Default

    When the DRM modesetting stuff is stabalized, there should be no more problems with this, because it's a lot less gimicky to do suspend with kernel modesetting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •