Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't use 4850 with Catalyst 8.8

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Can't use 4850 with Catalyst 8.8

    So I have an ATI Radeon 4850 on Ubuntu Hardy 64, and I want to be able to actually use my computer. I installed 8.7 initially with EnvyNG, but got a locked X session when I tried to reboot, with nothing on screen. I initially blamed this on Envy, but after trying to manually install 8.8 and getting this same problem, I've realized it isn't Envy.

    I found a post on the Arch Linux forums explaining that there's some problem with having 4 gigs of RAM and a 512 meg graphics card. When I removed the second two gig stick, I was able to boot to my desktop. However, when I try to switch to compiz, I get a white screen and a cursor, and I can't do anything.

    So tell me, is it possible to run compiz with any drivers + this card, or is it off limits for now. Also, what can I do to add in the second stick of RAM? I figured that by having a 64 bit OS, I wouldn't encounter RAM limitations, but is such truly the case?
    Last edited by Tixer; 08-30-2008 at 12:25 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Yep, I'm running a 4850 on a 64-bit OS, and it works fine for 64-bit native linux apps (has a hard time with 32-bit apps or wine/cedega).

    Your problem is caused by something (I don't know what) not setting up the kernel's mtrrs properly - the memory range that your graphics card sits at needs to be marked uncacheable.

    Search the "Catalyst 8.[678] Released" threads for bridgman's posts on helping people with mtrr problems

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    So I managed to fix that part, and 4 gigs of RAM works just fine. However, absolutely nothing I can do is getting the fglrx driver to work. I've reinstalled everything at least a dozen times, and tried just about everything, and I keep getting the mesa drivers to work.

    Any ideas as to what I can do? I'm about ready to give up, since I've been trying for over 6 hours.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    Install a 32 bit OS

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    We would need to see your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file to determine why Xorg is falling back to mesa.

    Adam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I like my extra ram, kthx.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    That's not the problem, you can use PAE enabled kernel to access all ram.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default

    http://pastebin.com/m7930e159

    And I'd prefer not to have to reinstall. I have fake RAID here, and setting it up is painful.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •