Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: No mipmaps with HD3850 in Compiz

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default No mipmaps with HD3850 in Compiz

    Am I the only one who can't get mipmaps to work under Compiz?

    http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1235

    All my other cards (9800pro, x800gto, 200m) using the latest drivers have no problems displaying mipmaps, while the two hd3850s I have fail to do so.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    314

    Default

    *shrugs* - I still can't get around the checkerboard of doom

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    I ask because I can't find any other report on the issue. Not even on the Compiz forums. Surely there are people running these cards and Compiz. Most important, is it a known issue and if so will it be fixed?



  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    437

    Default

    My HD4850 does the same thing using fglrx, white, instead of meaningful texture.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    A Coruņa (Spain)
    Posts
    100

    Default

    If works with my 3850. Well, the icons in the switch applet are a white square too, but the window contents are displayed correctly in both the switch applet and the taskbar previews (and I have the mipmap options checked).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    I ask because I can't find any other report on the issue. Not even on the Compiz forums. Surely there are people running these cards and Compiz. Most important, is it a known issue and if so will it be fixed?
    I've noted it a couple of times - one here.

    http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showp...66&postcount=2

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,285

    Default

    What is the best way to reproduce this ? The bugzilla ticket doesn't say, and the link seems to talk about the fullscreen/window issue not mipmaps.

    Is the mipmap issue related to the discussion about thumbnails and alt-tab ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    What is the best way to reproduce this ? The bugzilla ticket doesn't say, and the link seems to talk about the fullscreen/window issue not mipmaps.

    Is the mipmap issue related to the discussion about thumbnails and alt-tab ?

    I'm using Compiz 0.7.4. Just turn on mipmaps on any of the effects that support them (window previews, expo, desktop cube, etc) and instead of the texture display you will get that white background.
    This same machine with the same software/drivers, but using different cards (x800gto for example), does not have this problem.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,285

    Default

    OK, thanks. I wasn't looking for mipmaps in the individual effects.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    Yaeh, all of the effects that use mipmaps display this behavior:


    (desktop cube effect)

    By the way, the machine I'm running has a standard Hardy 64bit installation.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •