Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Xorg freezes the system with radeon driver on X1650 Pro

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default Xorg freezes the system with radeon driver on X1650 Pro

    Hi,
    My system is as follows:
    Arch Linux with everything updated to latest
    Mesa 7.1-1
    Xorg Xserver at 1.5rc3
    Libdrm at 2.3.1
    xf86-video-ati 6.9.0
    xf86-video-radeonhd 1.2.1

    When I run X -configure, it automatically makes a xorg.conf with radeon in it. When I test with this Xorg.conf, the system freezes, unresponsive, and I can't switch to any VTs. I can only reboot..

    Here is the Xorg.conf it generates:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load  "xtrap"
    	Load  "dbe"
    	Load  "dri"
    	Load  "extmod"
    	Load  "glx"
    	Load  "freetype"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse0"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "auto"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "Monitor0"
    	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    	ModelName    "Monitor Model"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Card0"
    	Driver      "radeon"
    	VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
    	BoardName   "RV530LE [Radeon X1600/X1650 PRO]"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen0"
    	Device     "Card0"
    	Monitor    "Monitor0"
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     1
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     4
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     8
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     15
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     16
    	EndSubSection
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection

    What I'm using to post this is radeonhd, but I also can't get 3D running in it, it works fine, but DRI doesn't run correctly..
    It says this in Xorg.0.log:
    Code:
    (WW) RADEONHD(0): Option "DRI" is not used
    (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI2 capable
    (II) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable
    (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized /usr/lib/xorg/modules/dri/swrast_dri.so
    (II) GLX: Initialized DRISWRAST GL provider for screen 0
    The Xorg.conf for RadeonHD is the same as in radeon, with the driver changed to radeonhd and I added Option "DRI".


    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,572

    Default

    I'm not 100% sure but I think your radeonhd driver is too old to run 3D. Best bet is probably picking up the latest from git.

    I would try removing all of the Subsection "Display" stuff in the Screen section of your xorg.conf. Do you get any useful info in the log file when you run radeon ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I'm not 100% sure but I think your radeonhd driver is too old to run 3D. Best bet is probably picking up the latest from git.

    I would try removing all of the Subsection "Display" stuff in the Screen section of your xorg.conf. Do you get any useful info in the log file when you run radeon ?
    Well, it's not a problem if I can't use radeonhd, as it can't use 2D and 3D together, and it's still not as usable as radeon.

    I will try removing Display, although for some reason I doubt it will work.
    i can't get any log file from running radeon, the PC hangs, and when I reboot, I don't find a log file..

    Someone on IRC suggested that my libdrm is too old and I should use from GIT, but mesa website states that libdrm 2.3 is enough for mesa 7.1..

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,572

    Default

    Well, it's not a problem if I can't use radeonhd, as it can't use 2D and 3D together,
    That's all fixed now. Alex updated the acceleration code in radeonhd so it now has full EXA render, Textured Video, and 2D/3D at the same time.

    The main thing missing now is rotation.

    I think 6.9.0 radeon included 780 support but I'm not 100% sure. I would try latest radeonhd as the next step.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    That's all fixed now. Alex updated the acceleration code in radeonhd so it now has full EXA render, Textured Video, and 2D/3D at the same time.

    The main thing missing now is rotation.

    I think 6.9.0 radeon included 780 support but I'm not 100% sure. I would try latest radeonhd as the next step.
    Sounds like the featureset for radeon driver
    I will try that right now..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Extreme Coder View Post
    Sounds like the featureset for radeon driver
    I will try that right now..
    Oh btw, is there a guide out there on how to compile radeonhd?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,572

    Default

    http://www.x.org/wiki/radeonhd

    It worked for me, so it must be pretty thorough

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    76

    Default

    I've seen this when using an out of date x11-drm that doesn't support your card, after hang xorg.conf shows dri can't be found, but the system hardlocks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by neuron View Post
    I've seen this when using an out of date x11-drm that doesn't support your card, after hang xorg.conf shows dri can't be found, but the system hardlocks.
    But I compiled libdrm from git.
    I've yet to compile radeonhd, I will try now though.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Well have you checked Xorg.0.log after it freezes?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •