Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: WINE 1.1.6 Supports X11 Desktop Work-Area

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,644

    Default WINE 1.1.6 Supports X11 Desktop Work-Area

    Phoronix: WINE 1.1.6 Supports X11 Desktop Work-Area

    Released this morning by WINE HQ was WINE 1.1.6. This development release adds initial support for schannel using GnuTLS, a number of fixes from various code analysis tools, support for X11 desktop work area, fixes for Richedit tables, more complete JavaScript support, and various bug fixes...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=Njc3Nw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    677

    Default

    What is a X11 desktop area?

    Wine already does pretty good support for fullscreen apps (you can actually alt+tab out of it, unlike 99% of linux games! It's amazing. Only other game that actually does that properly is Savage 2).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    @ Michael Larabel:

    The correct way to write Wine is not WINE, but Wine. http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-8b4f...f5b7f0e8d25f2e

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by glaufan View Post
    @ Michael Larabel:

    The correct way to write Wine is not WINE, but Wine. http://wiki.winehq.org/FAQ#head-8b4f...f5b7f0e8d25f2e
    I know, it's just a habit of mine though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vadi View Post
    What is a X11 desktop area?

    Wine already does pretty good support for fullscreen apps (you can actually alt+tab out of it, unlike 99% of linux games! It's amazing. Only other game that actually does that properly is Savage 2).
    it's the part of the screen not occupied by panels or (on windows) the start menu... I think it's part of work to support a taskbar like thing when using a virtual desktop

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    With this Wine version, I have visible Gnome panels in Wine fullscreen apps. Not exactly an improvement... Now, Gnome seems to work with X11 desktop work area, there must be a way to make it release the entire screen (other than killing the gnome panels)...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    55

    Default

    With Wine 1.1.6 i have massive soundprobs, sound is very studdery.
    Can anybody confirm this?
    With Wine 1.1.5 sound works very well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I can confirm that Wine 1.1.6 has sound problems. Noticed them in WoW, things were very crackly and generally just nasty.

    Thought it might've been a problem with Wine, so I launched with 1.1.5 instead and it worked fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •