Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: VirtualBox 2.0.4 Gets Released

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,526

    Default VirtualBox 2.0.4 Gets Released

    Phoronix: VirtualBox 2.0.4 Gets Released

    VirtualBox 2.0.4 has been released this morning as the second maintenance release in the 2.0 series. This virtualizer for x86 hardware that's owned by Sun Microsystems now has better reporting for VT-x failures, Qt interface fixes, virtualization crash fixes, Solaris host support for Crossbow Virtual Network Interfaces, Ubuntu 8.10 support, Linux clipboard fixes, and other changes...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NjgwOA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    Well only VBOX Addon support for Ubuntu 8.10 is new. They did not fix some issues with the kernel on non VT machines of the older Ubuntu test images - which solved a kernel patch - back then Vbox crashed even while booting Ubuntu live iso images.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Sadly it still reports that 64-bit guests is still broken with Virtualbox reporting "You cannot install a 64-bit guest on this machine" on machines that are fully capable of it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    Install a 64 bit host OS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    956

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Install a 64 bit host OS.
    Sun needs to add support for running a 64 bit guest on top of a 32 bit OS even if the host CPU IS a 64 bit one.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,610

    Default

    Can VMWARE do that?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeepDayze View Post
    Sun needs to add support for running a 64 bit guest on top of a 32 bit OS even if the host CPU IS a 64 bit one.
    Why would you possibly want to do such a thing?

    As far as I'm aware a 32 bit host os on a 64 bit processor is run in a special protected mode (this was done for compatibility with x86). Not to mention that the program would be compiled for x86 and would not be able to allocate the resources for x64. However somebody please correct me if I'm hopelessly wrong...

    edit: in vmware it seems to be possible to use a 32bit host for 64 bit guests if the cpu is 64 bits.
    Last edited by _txf_; 10-27-2008 at 10:52 AM. Reason: EDIT: apparently I'm wrong

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Install a 64 bit host OS.
    That is with a 64-bit host.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,128

    Default

    Enable VT in the advanced options. This is required for 64-bit support (it's in the manual ).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •