Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Open Source Driver on HD 3200 Fedora 10 Preview

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default Open Source Driver on HD 3200 Fedora 10 Preview

    I bought a new laptop, in a rather hurry the other day (other one died), and it has an ATI HD 3200 IGP. I tried installing Fedora 9 on it, but graphics didn't work properly on the installation, so I went to Fedora 10 Preview.

    Fedora 10 Preview is running on it but I notice that graphics performance didn't seem very good, and when I tried to setup Gtreamer video output to use the X11/Xshm/Xv option it didn't work.

    So I looked at the Xorg.log.0 and found that direct rendering is disabled, and acceleration initialization failed:

    (II) RADEON(0): RADEONInitMemoryMap() :
    (II) RADEON(0): mem_size : 0x10000000
    (II) RADEON(0): MC_FB_LOCATION : 0x00000000
    (II) RADEON(0): MC_AGP_LOCATION : 0x003f0000
    (II) RADEON(0): Depth moves disabled by default
    (II) RADEON(0): Memory manager initialized to (0,0) (3392,8191)
    (II) RADEON(0): Reserved area from (0,1440) to (3392,1442)
    (II) RADEON(0): Largest offscreen area available: 3392 x 6749
    (II) RADEON(0): RADEONRestoreMemMapRegisters() :
    (II) RADEON(0): MC_FB_LOCATION : 0x00000000 0x00cf00c0
    (II) RADEON(0): MC_AGP_LOCATION : 0x003f0000
    (==) RADEON(0): Backing store disabled
    (WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
    (EE) RADEON(0): Acceleration initialization failed
    (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration disabled
    (II) RADEON(0): DPMS enabled
    (==) RADEON(0): Silken mouse enabled
    (II) RADEON(0): Will use 32 kb for hardware cursor 0 at offset 0x012a9000
    (II) RADEON(0): Will use 32 kb for hardware cursor 1 at offset 0x012b0000
    (II) RADEON(0): Largest offscreen area available: 3392 x 6745

    Does anyone know if there is a solution to this, so I can have accelerated 2D and 3D?

    Thanks for any and all help.

  2. #2

    Default Re:DRI disabled

    Please post xorg.conf

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spikethehobbitmage View Post
    Please post xorg.conf
    There is no xorg.conf. Apparently a clean Fedora 10 Preview install does not create one. I'm not really sure how it works. I even searched the system to see if there was one, just in a different location, but nothing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default

    After searching around, indeed Fedora 10 does not use xorg.conf by default anymore.

  5. #5

    Default re:no xorg.conf

    In that case, the place to check would be Fedora's help system.

    You might be able to create an xorg.conf file just including these lines:
    Code:
    Section "Module"
            SubSection "extmod"
                    Option      "omit xfree86-dga"
            EndSubSection
            Load  "dbe"
            Load  "glx"
            Load  "dri"
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Group        "video"
            Mode         0660
    EndSection
    and make sure you are in group "video"

    Also, you may need to turn off AIGLX.
    http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/RenderingProject/aiglx

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    772

    Default

    Last time I checked, mainline xorg didn't really have any R600 family acceleration. Did this change while I was looking the other way?

  7. #7

    Default

    Ex-Cyber, you win an Internet.

    Radeon HD 3200 IGP is a RS780 (R600 family)

    RadeonHD has 2D support as of 1.2.2

    If you need 3D, you need fglrx.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spikethehobbitmage View Post
    Ex-Cyber, you win an Internet.

    Radeon HD 3200 IGP is a RS780 (R600 family)

    RadeonHD has 2D support as of 1.2.2

    If you need 3D, you need fglrx.
    I'm not using the RadeonHD driver, but the ATI driver which uses ATOMBios. I had read back in May (on Phoronix) that the ati driver package (radeon driver) had this support back in May.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    206

    Default

    as far as I know, there is no 2D accaleration provided by either, RadeonHD or radeon for R600/700.

    Both only support accaleration of R500, and RadeonHD's accaleration routines were simply copied&pasted from radeon.

    - Clemens

  10. #10

    Default

    http://www.x.org/wiki/RadeonFeature (x.org) lists 2D acceleration for R600 chips as unknown for radeon driver
    radeonhd has 2D support as of 1.2.2

    http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/ATIRadeon (freedesktop.org) claims 3D support for both

    Fedora 10 includes xorg-x11-drv-ati-6.9.0
    that version is about 4 months old
    you probably need to build from git

    also, check to see if the kernel module is loading

    in any case, try the stub xorg.conf


    my kingdom for a straight answer :/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •