Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Catalyst + Compiz = GUI lag

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default Catalyst + Compiz = GUI lag

    I've had Compiz Fusion working very nicely with the radeon driver on an X1950XT. I've also tried the Catalyst drivers back then, but it was crap. The GUI was lagging (menus open up with big delay, likewise for maximizing and minimizing windows).

    With the HD4870, the only driver that works is Catalyst. But even in the latest version (8.11) the lag is not gone. Will we get decent performance this century or should I go on and apply for the cryostasis program and tell them to wake me up in 2100?

    PS:
    It's funny that the open source radeon driver beats Catalyst by orders of magnitude in this one.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    I've had Compiz Fusion working very nicely with the radeon driver on an X1950XT. I've also tried the Catalyst drivers back then, but it was crap. The GUI was lagging (menus open up with big delay, likewise for maximizing and minimizing windows).

    With the HD4870, the only driver that works is Catalyst. But even in the latest version (8.11) the lag is not gone. Will we get decent performance this century or should I go on and apply for the cryostasis program and tell them to wake me up in 2100?

    PS:
    It's funny that the open source radeon driver beats Catalyst by orders of magnitude in this one.
    Wait for OSS R600 accel :-)

    To be fair to fglrx I think it's because radeon uses EXA. If you set it to use XAA then you get the same delay as fglrx.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    I remember some older GeForce cards not having this problem, even long before EXA actually existed, so that can hardly be the problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    294

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    I remember some older GeForce cards not having this problem, even long before EXA actually existed, so that can hardly be the problem.
    I though nvidia used some of its own X stuff, but I've never had one to test.

    Whatever the cause, using radeon[hd] on my R500 card with the latest xorg behaves the same as fglrx in compiz if XAA is used.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Which is not really good :P I mean, we *pay* for this. We should expect good performance.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    I've had Compiz Fusion working very nicely with the radeon driver on an X1950XT.
    Hi, can you show me your xorg.conf?
    regards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    These are the relevant parts:

    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "X1950XT"
            Driver      "radeon"
            Option      "UseAtomBIOS" "true"
            Option      "AccelMethod" "EXA"
            Option      "AccelDFS" "on"
            Option      "EnablePageFlip" "on"
            Option      "TripleBuffer" "true"
            Option      "DMAForXv" "true"
            Option      "DynamicClocks" "on"
            Option      "VGAAccess" "off"
            Option      "DRI"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen 1"
            Device     "X1950XT"
            DefaultDepth     24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     8
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     16
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
                    Modes    "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
            Mode         0666
    EndSection
    Note: the "DRI" section with "Mode 0666" is crucial. It won't work without it.
    Last edited by RealNC; 11-28-2008 at 02:34 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    These are the relevant parts:

    Note: the "DRI" section with "Mode 0666" is crucial. It won't work without it.
    Thanks a lot.
    Regards

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •