Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: does usb work on amd south bridge ?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,718

    Default

    you load ohci and ehci. You plug in mouse and keybord. dmesg or lsusb+ /proc/interrupts can tell you everything you need to know. Or you get the patch or you install a recent kernel - like 2.6.27.8 or 9

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,257

    Default

    My Biostar 780G/SB700 board with latest BIOS hasn't exhibited any USB problems (I have a mouse and a USB disk that I use for backup).

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,718

    Default

    yeah, the kernel patch is only needed for boards without the bios fix.
    So if Biostar fixed the bios, you won't see any problems. Asrock didn't but the fix worked. And it seems that Gigabyte did not fix their bios too - which is pretty weak if you think about the price you have to pay for Gigabyte stuff.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman View Post
    yeah, the kernel patch is only needed for boards without the bios fix.
    So if Biostar fixed the bios, you won't see any problems. Asrock didn't but the fix worked. And it seems that Gigabyte did not fix their bios too - which is pretty weak if you think about the price you have to pay for Gigabyte stuff.
    I have an even older ga-ma78gm-s2h board whose latest bio predates the initial bios of the other said gigabyte board, and I don't have any usb problems, and it runs pretty stable for me. As for the asrock brand, I've had trouble with an old 939Dual-SATA2 (random crashes, etc.) that I ended up having to replace a year later with a biostar, which is still running strong a couple of years later.

    I think all of these mb manufacturers source the same cheap taiwanese parts anyway, and it's just your luck when they fail. Asrock, though, does release frequent bios updates so that's a plus, but that part alone doesn't make my purchase decision.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    92

    Default

    i just ordered a new board with nvidia 8200. i was thinking it was a bad egg but dont feel like going through all that again. and with nvidia ill have ahci hopefully, better usb, and tear free video playback. ill see how this goes.

    matt

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,718

    Default

    hm, strange that I am able to use ahci just fine ....

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    92

    Default

    well i never really got far enough to really test the hard drive. i did hdparm -t /dev/sda, that was giving about 50 MB/sec. i consider that really slow for a new computer. my ancient pentium3 can still do 55 MB/sec, and my file sever with an old ide pci card can do between 60 and 70 MB/sec.

    matt

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,718

    Default

    hdparm -tT /dev/sda

    /dev/sda:
    Timing cached reads: 2012 MB in 2.00 seconds = 1006.25 MB/sec
    Timing buffered disk reads: 246 MB in 3.00 seconds = 81.93 MB/sec

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman View Post
    hdparm -tT /dev/sda

    /dev/sda:
    Timing cached reads: 2012 MB in 2.00 seconds = 1006.25 MB/sec
    Timing buffered disk reads: 246 MB in 3.00 seconds = 81.93 MB/sec
    thats not bad at all. i didnt think it was possible with an amd system. oh well, too late now, the nvidia board is in the mail. i tried really hard for 4 weeks to get the gigabyte board with 780g/sb700 to work. i am done.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,718

    Default

    yeah, but you are blaming the wrong part. Gigabyte sold you crap,

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •