Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Odd behavior on switch from X1550 to HD3200

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default Odd behavior on switch from X1550 to HD3200

    I upgraded some hardware and migrated from an older motherboard in which I was running an X1550 card to a new motherboard with integrated HD3200 (780G).

    On the old X1550 card, my Westinghouse LVM-37w3se display works perfectly with the newest builds of the radeon driver, BIOS and text displays come up fine with no issues, and I get very nice 1920x1080 display with good acceleration, etc.

    On the DVI output on the new motherboard, none of the BIOS or text displays will show, and the TV reports no signal. The system continues to boot in the background until X starts, and the proper 1920x1280 comes up without a problem.

    If I put the X1550 in the new system, everything displays as expected. I was able to configure BIOS and then switch over to the other output and remove the X1550 card entirely.

    Other than refusal to display any of the low resolution modes, everything is working fine. Of course, if I ever need to drop to a console to fix something, I won't be able to see a thing.




    Has anyone run into this? Is this an issue with the video card not handling the display's EDID properly? I doubt that it's a driver issue, because it's a problem even with display of the BIOS text and POST messages.

    I'm wondering if it may be a problem with EDID from the TV... I notice in the logs that the higher resolutions indicate "0" hz vertical refresh. Odd that the 1920x1080 mode works fine though... very curious.


    Here are the relevant sections of my Xorg.0.log:
    Code:
    (--) PCI:*(0@1:5:0) ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3200 Graphics rev 0, Mem @ 0xd0000000/0, 0xf9ef0000/0, 0xf9d00000/0, I/O @ 0x0000c000/0
    
    ...
    
    (II) RADEON(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
    (II) RADEON(0): ATOM BIOS detected
    (II) RADEON(0): ATOM BIOS Rom: 
    	SubsystemVendorID: 0x1002 SubsystemID: 0x1002
    	IOBaseAddress: 0xc000
    	Filename: K10DX10DP_D_
    	BIOS Bootup Message: 
    ASROCK RS780 VBIOS 082
    
    ...
    
    (II) RADEON(0): Output DVI-0 has no monitor section
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C bus "DVI-0" initialized.
    (II) RADEON(0): Port0:
     Monitor   -- AUTO
     Connector -- VGA
     DAC Type  -- Primary
     TMDS Type -- None
     DDC Type  -- 0x7e40
    (II) RADEON(0): Port1:
     Monitor   -- AUTO
     Connector -- DVI-D
     DAC Type  -- None
     TMDS Type -- LVTMA
     DDC Type  -- 0x7e50
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "VGA-0:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "VGA-0:ddc2" removed.
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: VGA-0, Detected Monitor Type: 0
    Dac detection success
    finished output detect: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "DVI-0:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: DVI-0, Detected Monitor Type: 3
    (II) RADEON(0): Panel infos found from DDC detailed: 1920x1080
    
    ...
    
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID data from the display on output: DVI-0 ----------------------
    (II) RADEON(0): Manufacturer: WDE  Model: 14fa  Serial#: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Year: 2007  Week: 16
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID Version: 1.3
    (II) RADEON(0): Analog Display Input,  Input Voltage Level: 0.700/0.300 V
    (II) RADEON(0): Sync:  Separate
    (II) RADEON(0): Max Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 82  vert.: 46
    (II) RADEON(0): Gamma: 2.20
    (II) RADEON(0): DPMS capabilities: Off; RGB/Color Display
    (II) RADEON(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
    (II) RADEON(0): redX: 0.640 redY: 0.331   greenX: 0.290 greenY: 0.600
    (II) RADEON(0): blueX: 0.149 blueY: 0.059   whiteX: 0.280 whiteY: 0.291
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported VESA Video Modes:
    (II) RADEON(0): 720x400@70Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): 640x480@60Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): 800x600@60Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): 1024x768@60Hz
    (II) RADEON(0): Manufacturer's mask: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported Future Video Modes:
    (II) RADEON(0): #0: hsize: 1280  vsize 720  refresh: 60  vid: 49281
    (II) RADEON(0): #1: hsize: 1280  vsize 1024  refresh: 60  vid: 32897
    (II) RADEON(0): #2: hsize: 1280  vsize 800  refresh: 60  vid: 129
    (II) RADEON(0): Supported additional Video Mode:
    (II) RADEON(0): clock: 148.5 MHz   Image Size:  708 x 398 mm
    (II) RADEON(0): h_active: 1920  h_sync: 2008  h_sync_end 2052 h_blank_end 2200 h_border: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): v_active: 1080  v_sync: 1084  v_sync_end 1089 v_blanking: 1125 v_border: 0
    (II) RADEON(0): Ranges: V min: 58 V max: 72 Hz, H min: 30 H max: 68 kHz, PixClock max 150 MHz
    (II) RADEON(0): Monitor name: Westinghouse
    (II) RADEON(0): Monitor name: LVM-37w3se
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID (in hex):
    (II) RADEON(0): 	00ffffffffffff005c85fa1400000000
    (II) RADEON(0): 	1011010308522e782af64ea3544a9926
    (II) RADEON(0): 	0f474aa1080081c08180810001010101
    (II) RADEON(0): 	010101010101023a801871382d40582c
    (II) RADEON(0): 	4500c48e2100001e000000fd003a481e
    (II) RADEON(0): 	440f000a202020202020000000fc0057
    (II) RADEON(0): 	657374696e67686f75736520000000fc
    (II) RADEON(0): 	004c564d2d3337773373650a20200001
    finished output detect: 1
    
    ...
    
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "VGA-0:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.
    (II) RADEON(0): I2C device "VGA-0:ddc2" removed.
    (II) RADEON(0): Output: VGA-0, Detected Monitor Type: 0
    Dac detection success
    (II) RADEON(0): EDID vendor "WDE", prod id 5370
    (II) RADEON(0): Using EDID range info for horizontal sync
    (II) RADEON(0): Using EDID range info for vertical refresh
    (II) RADEON(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1920x1080"x0.0  148.50  1920 2008 2052 2200  1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync (67.5 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0   40.00  800 840 968 1056  600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0   25.20  640 656 752 800  480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "720x400"x0.0   28.32  720 738 846 900  400 412 414 449 -hsync +vsync (31.5 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1024x768"x0.0   65.00  1024 1048 1184 1344  768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x720"x60.0   74.48  1280 1336 1472 1664  720 721 724 746 -hsync +vsync (44.8 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x1024"x60.0  108.88  1280 1360 1496 1712  1024 1025 1028 1060 -hsync +vsync (63.6 kHz)
    (II) RADEON(0): Modeline "1280x800"x60.0   83.46  1280 1344 1480 1680  800 801 804 828 -hsync +vsync (49.7 kHz)

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    39

    Default

    ts your video default set to in the bios? It could be something s mundane as being set to PCIe and thusly sends no signal till x loads.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Duo Maxwell View Post
    ts your video default set to in the bios? It could be something s mundane as being set to PCIe and thusly sends no signal till x loads.
    It rolls over to the internal card when no PCI or PCIe video device is detected. My worry is that if I set it manually to the internal card, I'll never be able to get into the BIOS again without another monitor to attach.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,024

    Default

    You may just need to update your OS/kernel. When I setup a 780G based mobo with Fedora 9, I had all kinds of issues with the Linux console, and only the radeon driver (not radeonhd) would get the display to work.

    With Fedora 10, everything seems to work just perfectly (still no KMS or acceleration, of course... but the basics all work).

    It could thus just be that your kernel and framebuffer driver are too old.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    I don't think that that's the issue.

    Running Ubuntu Intrepid 8.10, kernel 2.6.27-9-generic (ubuntu), Xserver 1.5.2. Using the radeon driver, one of the latest builds.

    This issue appears prior to Grub even loading... the BIOS itself doesn't display to the screen either.

    I just can't figure out why a Radeon X1550 doesn't have the problem, but an HD3200 does. What changed in the DVI-output display handling I wonder? And is there a fix?
    Last edited by Porter; 12-12-2008 at 09:15 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Porter View Post
    This issue appears prior to Grub even loading... the BIOS itself doesn't display to the screen either.

    I just can't figure out why a Radeon X1550 doesn't have the problem, but an HD3200 does. What changed in the DVI-output display handling I wonder? And is there a fix?
    Sounds like a bios issue. You might want to see if your motherboard vendor has an updated bios available. Code in the video bios detects attached displays and sets up the displays when the system boots. Each video device has it's own bios.

    Alex

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Sounds like a bios issue. You might want to see if your motherboard vendor has an updated bios available. Code in the video bios detects attached displays and sets up the displays when the system boots. Each video device has it's own bios.

    Alex
    ATI/AMD doesn't do the video bios code for their own chipsets? I wasn't aware that each integrator did that on their own.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    We write the code but every board does tend to have a unique VBIOS. Typically the code would be the same but the data(memory, connectors etc..) would be different.

    Motherboard VBIOSes tend to be even more complicated because the IGP parts multiplex a number of functions onto the same pins to provide additional features while maintaining socket compatibility.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Roanoke, VA
    Posts
    228

    Default

    The log reports:

    (II) RADEON(0): Primary V_BIOS segment is: 0xc000
    (II) RADEON(0): ATOM BIOS detected
    (II) RADEON(0): ATOM BIOS Rom:
    SubsystemVendorID: 0x1002 SubsystemID: 0x1002
    IOBaseAddress: 0xc000
    Filename: K10DX10DP_D_
    BIOS Bootup Message: ASROCK RS780 VBIOS 082



    Is this an ATOMBIOS message reporting a detected device, or is that a message from the board itself?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    AFAIK it's a message from the driver as it checks the first few bytes of the BIOS image to confirm that it recognizes the BIOS type.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •