Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: VirtualBox Gets OpenGL Acceleration Support

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    574

    Default

    one word: WOW!

    and for Zhick:
    the only way developers make ports for an OS is that that OS is seriously in the market business. Linux, as of today isn't and this is a fact you must accept. What we all hope is obviously that this one day changes, but Microsoft has more power than your brain could ever imagine.

    substitute the word "power" with anything else you prefer, from "corruption", "FUD", and more.

  2. #12

    Default

    Their opengl layer is not that fast yet and it doesn't offer a lot of more opengl features like glsl and fbo. They are thinking about using wine's direct3d layer in the beginning. I would recommend Wine over VirtualBox then.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    196

    Default

    I wonder if they'll write a WDM-capable graphics driver for Windows Vista. That way we'll get Aero support. Then again, it probably wouldn't be too fast.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    I can't imagine how they got 64 bit clients to work on 32 bit hosts. Can anyone explain how this is possible?

    Exciting times

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,630

    Default

    That only works with help of VT/Pacifica, that means not with cheap Intel CPUs like series 1/2/4. Or the Q8 series. E8 has VT.
    Last edited by Kano; 12-17-2008 at 04:02 PM.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Anyone luck with actually playing a game?
    I can't seem to get "Unreal tournament GOTY" working in opengl
    Besides that, virtualbox screws up mouse positioning in game-like windows big-time

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uwgandalf View Post
    Anyone luck with actually playing a game?
    I can't seem to get "Unreal tournament GOTY" working in opengl
    Besides that, virtualbox screws up mouse positioning in game-like windows big-time
    Not tried yet, but there indeed are problems with mouse positioning in games.

    In case anyone wonders, the 3d driver reports: "Chromium, Humper, 1.5 Chromium 1.9" and supports up to GL1.5 (tested on a 4850 with Catalyst 8.12). The guest driver also includes some interesting Chromium-specific OpenGL extensions:

    boundingbox
    cursorposition
    headspuname
    performanceinfo
    printstring
    readbackbarriersize
    saveframe
    serveridsharing
    servermatrix
    stateparameter
    synchronization
    tileinfo
    tilesortinfo
    windowsize

    Moreover, the driver dumps a lot of debug information to the console (try running your guest application from the commandline). Some of it is quite interesting, as it reveals how the driver works and why it is windows-only for the time being (notice the state tracking):

    OpenGL Debug: Resolution changed(1400,1025), forcing window Pos/Size update
    OpenGL Debug: Dispatched WindowSize (5)
    OpenGL Debug: Dispatched WindowPosition (5)

    Speed is great, even with compiz, and it will only become better as the driver matures. I now hope GL2.1 support will appear soon.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    14

    Default

    You can already make X11-openGL-apps in a client work with almost all hosts. Just make it use your host's X11-server(install one if needed)

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,791

    Default

    People, don't get too happy about it. This is too slow to run anything recent. If you're hoping to play UT3 that way, forget it. Old stuff (Warcraft 3, Counter-Strike/Half-Life) is fast enough. New stuff won't be playable unless a wonder happens.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,142

    Default

    As the manual said, this feature is considered experimental in this release. As you can see, it runs in some kind of debugging mode, which seems to cost quite a bit of performance.

    It's not usable for high-end gaming at this time, but that might change in the future. Time will tell, I guess.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •