Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 53

Thread: Drawing Open-Source Triangles On The ATI RV770

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    did you build and install the drm kernel module from the 6xx-7xx branch of mesa/drm ?
    Well, I did now (thanks). I checked out that branch, built mesa/drm, built mesa from git source, and finally rebuilt radeonhd (with its r6xx.. branch) from source. NO JOY, I still get an empty /dev/dri directory. Do I have to build the entire X server from source?

    bugmenot, would you care to describe how you got to the point you did?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,260

    Angry

    Sigh...
    So I found that the drm.ko kernel module I built isn't loading properly. It might have something to do with drm being built statically into stock 2.6.28 kernels:
    http://radeonhd.org/?page=archive_di...8&d=2008-12-16

    I guess I'm going to configure/build a vanilla 2.6.28 kernel. Will report back.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Nürnberg, Germany
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bugmenot View Post
    Hello, thanks for the answer.
    I added the pci ID of my card, now it is not an untested chip anymore, but it still does not work.
    I installed the R600/700 branches of radeonhd and drm and there are not errors in the xorg.0.log, drm seems to load successful. I assume that there is something with the DRM not ready for my card yet. Also the xserver freezes within 2-20 seconds if I start x with exa enabled. I can move the mouse then, but nothing else. I think DRM is not ready for my device, yet.
    Thanks for testing!

    You might want to try and load drm explicitly before starting the Xserver with 'modprobe drm debug=1; modprobe radeon' and verify /var/log/messages. This won't help you, but it might help us with debugging
    Last edited by mshopf; 01-05-2009 at 06:01 AM.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Nürnberg, Germany
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanL View Post
    Do I have to build the entire X server from source?
    Definitely not!

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Die trolls, die!
    Posts
    525

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mshopf View Post
    You might want to try and load drm explicitly before starting the Xserver with 'modprobe drm debug=1; modprobe radeon' and verify /var/log/messages
    Here we go:

    The output of 'messages' and 'syslog' when loading the modules with DEBUG=1:
    http://pastebin.ca/1300075

    And the output of 'syslog' when doing some testing with r600_demo:
    http://pastebin.ca/1300076

    If there is anything I can do, just say it.
    Thanks!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Die trolls, die!
    Posts
    525

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanL View Post
    Sigh...
    So I found that the drm.ko kernel module I built isn't loading properly. It might have something to do with drm being built statically into stock 2.6.28 kernels
    I renamed the original radeon.ko files and so on and copied the new compiled modules into the folder, where the original files were. But that is pretty 'unclean' I think, so I do it as described here now:
    http://www.x.org/wiki/radeonhdRI

    Good luck!

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,260

    Default

    -I rolled my own 2.6.28 kernel this morning (from the Ubuntu 9.04 kernel source) and configured it without drm built-in.
    -I then proceeded according to that same link bugmenot did (http://www.x.org/wiki/radeonhd:DRI)
    -I completely rebuilt mesa/drm, mesa, and radeonhd against the new kernel headers (checked out the r6xx-r7xx-support branches of drm and radeonhd)

    At least the drm.ko I built loads now. Unfortunately, X/gdm locks up hard when I load it (can't even Ctrl+Alt+F1). I tried just doing startx and bypassing gdm, but it still throttles the CPU and locks up.

    Code:
    Jan  5 07:46:12 somehost kernel: [   18.799983] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    Jan  5 07:46:12 somehost kernel: [   18.857825] pci 0000:01:05.0: BAR 0: can't reserve mem region [0xd0000000-0xdfffffff]
    Jan  5 07:46:12 somehost kernel: [   18.858749] pci 0000:01:05.0: PCI INT A -> GSI 18 (level, low) -> IRQ 18
    Jan  5 07:46:12 somehost kernel: [   18.858757] pci 0000:01:05.0: setting latency timer to 64
    Jan  5 07:46:12 somehost kernel: [   18.858986] [drm] Initialized radeon 1.29.0 20080613 on minor 0
    Jan  5 07:46:12 somehost kernel: [   18.859094] [drm] Used old pci detect: framebuffer loaded
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   18.982927] [drm] Setting GART location based on new memory map
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   18.982936] [drm:r600_do_init_cp] *ERROR* Need gart offset from userspace
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   18.998321] [drm] Loading RS780 CP Microcode
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   18.999346] [drm] Loading RS780 PFP Microcode
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   19.014507] [drm] Resetting GPU
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   19.014566] [drm] writeback test succeeded in 1 usecs
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   19.332859] [drm] dwords:3632
    Jan  5 07:46:13 somehost kernel: [   19.332864] [drm] offset 0xe0222000
    Jan  5 07:46:14 somehost kernel: [   20.531390] [drm] dwords:3632
    Jan  5 07:46:14 somehost kernel: [   20.531395] [drm] offset 0xe0232000

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Bernardino, CA
    Posts
    231

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Before coming to ATI I was actually visited by a team of lawyers demanding royalty payments for the use of "their IP", which was XOR-ing a cursor image onto the screen. At the time I ran a small company designing & building graphics cards and accelerators for other companies selling Mac upgrades.

    We told them to get lost and never heard from them again, but I never liked software patents after that experience.
    Bridgman, count yourself lucky! That was probably the same patent that brought about the demise/downfall of the once mighty Commodore Amiga.

    From: Wikipedia Article on the Commodore CD32
    The CD32 was released in Canada and was planned for release in the United States. However, a deadline was reached for Commodore to pay a patent royalty to Cad Track for their use of their XOR patent. [1] A federal judge ordered an injunction against Commodore preventing them from importing anything into the United States. Commodore had built up CD32 inventory in their Philippine manufacturing facility for the United States launch, but, being unable to sell the consoles, they remained in the Philippines until the debts owed to the owners of the facility were settled. Commodore declared bankruptcy shortly afterwards, and the CD32 was never officially sold in the United States.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanL View Post
    At least the drm.ko I built loads now. Unfortunately, X/gdm locks up hard when I load it (can't even Ctrl+Alt+F1). I tried just doing startx and bypassing gdm, but it still throttles the CPU and locks up.
    There seems to be a problem with the 780 -- all the testing before release was done on discrete GPUs. The devs are going to look at the 780 this week.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Die trolls, die!
    Posts
    525

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    The devs are going to look at the 780 this week.
    Great! Nice to hear that. Thanks!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •