Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Budget grapich card, Open Source

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default Budget grapich card, Open Source

    Hey,
    ATM I have a HD3300 (onboard), but it is only supported by basic VESA drivers. The card works fine with closed-source drivers, but since I want to build a multiseat...

    Can anyone recommend me a budget (may have poorer performance than the HD3300) card which is fully supported by OSS drivers?

    I don't need 3D acceleration. It's for PCI-E.

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    404

    Default

    The HD3300 should already work with modesetting on the open-source drivers on either the radeon or radeonhd drivers. 2d/3d acceleration is being worked on and should be ready for end-users in the next few months.

    There really isn't any discrete graphics card being sold today that is fully supported by open-source drivers, only Intel has open-source support for their most recent products. ATI is still catching up, and NVIDIA doesn't have a supported open-source effort at all (the Nouveau folks are trying to reverse-engineer NVIDIA cards, but that's tough going)

    If you don't need open-source drivers. NVIDIA and ATI both have supported proprietary drivers.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Hey TechMage89, thanks for your reply!

    Can you then explain to me why xrandr only shows one screen, then?

    Code:
    martijn@multiseat:~$ xrandr -q
    Screen 0: minimum 640 x 400, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1280 x 1024
    default connected 1280x1024+0+0 0mm x 0mm
       1280x1024       0.0* 
       1152x864        0.0  
       1024x768        0.0  
       800x600         0.0  
       640x480         0.0  
       720x400         0.0
    (When I've got two connected)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Maybe because you use a connector which is shared with the other?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    I'm not sure what you mean. Could you explain it, please?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Maybe you have got a display port connector too and the one you want to use is shared with the other one. Did you try Win?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    I do have a display port connector, but I don't think it's shared (if I understand you correctly). The propriety driver can create independent screens.

    If Win means Windows, no I have not. A Windows license is too expensive for me.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    You can be sure you can only use display port + one of the others.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465

    Default

    What kano means is the vga and dvi ports are linked (you can only use one of them at a time, not both) and to use two monitors you need to plug one into the display port port.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    You can be sure you can only use display port + one of the others.
    Why? If another driver can create 2 independent screens, then it means it's not shared, right?

    Shared = same screen on both outputs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •