Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Please help on Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz P9500

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default Please help on Intel Core 2 Duo 2.53Ghz P9500

    Hi guys,

    Would someone know if this processor would support a 64-bit OS?

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,790

    Default

    Yes it does, like every other Core 2 CPU.

    Intel's specs on this CPU:
    http://processorfinder.intel.com/det...px?sSpec=SLB4E

    "Supported Features: Intel® EM64T"

    EM64T means 64-bit. Every Core 2 supports it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    thanks a lot for the indication. I was actually thinking about switching from Vista 32-bit to a 64-bit OS, would I see a big difference in terms of speed? (I have never tried 64-bit before that's why I ask)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,102

    Default

    No, you would only see visible speedup in intensive tasks. Ability to use more RAM and wider registers are the main advantages.

    If comparing win64 with linux64, there's the additional fact that win apps that are available as 64-bit versions can be counted with two hands. And half of those are open-source. On linux most if not all apps work 64-bit.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    To touch on your point about RAM. Right now, I have 4GB of RAM but I was told that a 32-bit OS (which I have right now) can only utilize 3GB or so. Basically, if I install a 64-bit OS, I'll be able to fully utilize my RAM?

    Thanks a lot

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    No, you would only see visible speedup in intensive tasks. Ability to use more RAM and wider registers are the main advantages.
    The amd x86_64 arch is clearly going faster through the use of more and extended registers when using the 64 bit mode. Conversely the intel core 2 architecture is known (That's what I was told at least) to be a touch slower in 64 bit than in 32 bit mode.

    If I don't mistake the problem of core2 is due to the fact that the so called macrofusion (you know this things that allows core2 processors to decode 2 x86 instructions at the same time) is not available in 64 bits mode.

    Notice that there is no such problem with the Nehalem or barcelona architectures. Also, I don't feel my core2 E6750 to be that slow under FC10 (64bit). I have no benchmark results to show but I don't expect the performances to drop by --- lets take a large margin --- 10 %. So you can confidently erase your old windows 32 bits ; try the 64 bits version ; face a mountain of bugs and other problems ; and then switch to any reliable POSIX compliant OS :-).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,102

    Default

    Yes.
    It's because with 32bits everything has to fit in 4gb; your main memory, your graphics card memory (4gb - 512mb), the banks in your expansion cards (some tens of kilobytes each), sometimes the bios, etc, etc, you get the idea.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default

    I see, thanks a lot for your help. I just have one last one again about the switch to 64-bit. For processors that support 64-bit, when switching to a 64-bit OS, is there a need to change anything in the Bios or it's done automatically since the processor already has the 64-bit feature?

    I appreciate your help!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    /home/$USER
    Posts
    113

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paachaa View Post
    I see, thanks a lot for your help. I just have one last one again about the switch to 64-bit. For processors that support 64-bit, when switching to a 64-bit OS, is there a need to change anything in the Bios or it's done automatically since the processor already has the 64-bit feature?

    I appreciate your help!
    All x86 processors actually start up in 16-bit mode for the BIOS to load. Once the BIOS power-on self-test is complete and it hands off control to the bootloader to load the OS kernel, the kernel tells the CPU what mode it has to run in: 16-bit mode, 32-bit mode, or 64-bit mode. The CPU then switches to the correct mode and loads the OS kernel and off you go. If the kernel wants to run in a mode unsupported by the CPU (such as telling a 32-bit-only CPU to run in 64-bit mode), then you immediately get an error and the computer quits loading the kernel.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    160

    Default

    The 32bit > 4GB/3GB is not exactly true. Any recent CPU will support PAE (well since the pentium pro or so). This enables 36bit memory support and so can support 64GB of ram.

    It's not supported i dont think in microsofts desktop os, but is in it's server versions. On linux you can just install the PAE kernel. it's an easy apt search and install...

    However on linux, there is very good 64bit support so PAE really is not needed any more. I've been running 64bit Ubuntu 8.10 and 8.04 on a variety of desktop machines and it's always been fine. There were problems with flash etc... but thats in the past.

    Don't think for one second that a 64bit OS will speed anything up though. That's just lying to yourself. It'll do about as much as that 10mhz overclock on your cpu ;-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •