Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 107

Thread: Catalyst 9.1 is out

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    314

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blabub View Post
    And still not usable with wine.
    What problems are you seeing? 9.1 beta was the first driver that let me play Source games, and I'm on a 64-bit OS...

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grantek View Post
    What problems are you seeing? 9.1 beta was the first driver that let me play Source games, and I'm on a 64-bit OS...
    Code:
    fixme:d3d_shader:shader_glsl_load_constants >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_OPERATION (0x502) from glUniform4fvARB @ glsl_shader.c / 524
    fixme:d3d_shader:shader_glsl_load_constantsI >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_OPERATION (0x502) from glUniform4ivARB @ glsl_shader.c / 401
    fixme:d3d_shader:shader_glsl_select >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_OPERATION (0x502) from glUseProgramObjectARB @ glsl_shader.c / 3570
    fixme:d3d_shader:shader_glsl_load_constants >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_OPERATION (0x502) from glUniform4fvARB @ glsl_shader.c / 524
    fixme:d3d_shader:shader_glsl_load_constantsI >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_OPERATION (0x502) from glUniform4ivARB @ glsl_shader.c / 401
    fixme:d3d_shader:shader_glsl_load_constants >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> GL_INVALID_OPERATION (0x502) from glUniform4fvARB @ glsl_shader.c / 524
    Stuff like this. With NVidia it works fine (EvE Online here).

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    20

    Default Boot to blank screen, - still not fixed..?!

    Hmmm, I installed on a fresh KDE 4.2 OpenSUSE 11.1 in the hope that this version actually fixed the boot to blank screen or crash to blank screen on exiting X.

    It does not.

    I'm somewhat surprised since this was listed as a blocker bug several times in the unofficial bugzilla list.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,763

    Default

    The drivers suck.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gsmd View Post
    Heiko
    Any noticeable video (h.264) decoding performance improvements?
    tbh: I don't have much comparison material as I almost never play high def video. But I ran a little test on an Duke Nukem Forever teaser movie I had on my computer (should be 720p according to the filename, not sure about the exact format).

    Using mplayer with `-vo x11' I had about 45% cpu usage (Athlon X2 5200, I think in Linux 100% would be fully using one of the cores, but I'm not sure) while with the option `-vo xv' I had about 25% cpu usage and according to aticonfig the HD3450 had a load of about 15%-20%. I could not check the load of the integrated HD3200 (aticonfig refused to give me that information).

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    Seek something with 1080p, your cpu can easyly play 720p.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX area
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    for support what ? in the catalyst readme the r300 family ( Radeon 9500 and higher ) is listed
    R300 support has been broken for me and others for several revs now:

    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14020

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Heiko View Post
    tbh: I don't have much comparison material as I almost never play high def video. But I ran a little test on an Duke Nukem Forever teaser movie I had on my computer (should be 720p according to the filename, not sure about the exact format).

    Using mplayer with `-vo x11' I had about 45% cpu usage (Athlon X2 5200, I think in Linux 100% would be fully using one of the cores, but I'm not sure) while with the option `-vo xv' I had about 25% cpu usage and according to aticonfig the HD3450 had a load of about 15%-20%. I could not check the load of the integrated HD3200 (aticonfig refused to give me that information).
    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Seek something with 1080p, your cpu can easyly play 720p.
    I downloaded `the elephants dream' h.264 version from the Blender website (http://orange.blender.org/download), that one is 1024 x 576 (didn't have time to download the bigger 1080p version, maybe I'll do that tomorrow).

    My cpu didn't stayed below 20% most of the time, the HD3450 did about 10%-15% load.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,598

    Default

    Thats 576p

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    DG, IL, USA
    Posts
    193

    Default

    Thank you for the corrected link

    --buildpkg option worked fine for Mandriva/2009.0 64 bit
    Now to play some games and movies.
    Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety,deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
    Ben Franklin 1755

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •