Page 5 of 11 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 107

Thread: Catalyst 9.1 is out

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,516

    Default

    angus77, does your system use AGP or PCIE bus ?

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default

    No go with 9.1 for me, Fedora 10 just boots to a black screen and no further.

    8.12 was working OK with just a minor change of:

    sudo ln -s /usr/lib64/dri/fglrx_dri.so /usr/lib/dri/fglrx_dri.so

    I've had to roll back to 8.12 until I get time to look into the Xorg logs in detail.

    Andrew

    Fedora 10, 2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64, 8GB
    ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 (2GB)

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Athens-Hellas
    Posts
    255

    Default

    Guys I face a strange problem here with official 9.1 driver...
    My setup is an HD 3450 card with an asus motherboard containing RS 780 chip=HD 3200 Xserver 1.5.2 Xorg 7.4 64-bit.
    I was able to boot correctly and I have to mention that the wrong route the driver was seeking the fglrx_dri.so file for 64-bit systems is fixed in the new driver!(it now correctly searches at /usr/lib64/ and not /usr/lib/)
    Well happy from this fact I tried to use Hybrid Crossfire..
    Followed the instructions from aticonfig I typed:
    aticonfig --lscc
    It correctly showed me my 2 graphic processors
    0:HD 3450
    1:HD 3200 as slave

    OK I said and gave the command for creating a chain:
    aticonfig --cfa --adapters=0,1

    It said chain is created (should I have restarted X here??)
    Then I gave the command to start crossfire
    aticonfig --cf=on --adapters=0,1

    And said crossfire enabled I had to restart X (I didn't restarted X here too)
    Then I added my monitor resolutions via aticonfig again as I always did in the past:
    aticonfig --input=/etc/X11/xorg.conf --resolution=0,1152x864,1024x768,800x600,640x480

    Then I logged out in order to restart X and KDE 4.2 normally and the system never made it!!
    I pressed ctrl+alt+delete to reboot by hand
    Then when the system rebooted at the time for X to arrive it showed me the black screen but cursor never appeared!!
    I am at failsafe mode with radeonhd driver writing those lines and I also checked the previous Xorg.0.log for details.
    Guess what it stops at "CF ribbon cable is not connected trying software CF mode"
    And that's it!! At this line the log ends! What can I do?? Any help?
    Last edited by djdoo; 01-30-2009 at 09:53 AM.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eurodrew555 View Post
    No go with 9.1 for me, Fedora 10 just boots to a black screen and no further.

    8.12 was working OK with just a minor change of:

    sudo ln -s /usr/lib64/dri/fglrx_dri.so /usr/lib/dri/fglrx_dri.so

    I've had to roll back to 8.12 until I get time to look into the Xorg logs in detail.

    Andrew

    Fedora 10, 2.6.27.9-159.fc10.x86_64, 8GB
    ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 (2GB)
    Thank you for your reply. I'm very disappointed with fglrx compatibility with non-Ubuntu distributions.

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Athens-Hellas
    Posts
    255

    Default

    I am confused here...
    Whenever I enable the cf chain I made for my adapters=0,1 with the command:

    aticonfig --cf=on --adapter=0

    I get the black screen of death!
    When I set this value to 'off' I get my system back!
    But the strange thing is that when I opened /etc/ati/amdpcsdb file with Kwrite app it writes these:
    HybridCrossFire=V1
    RowTilingDowngrade=V0
    BankSwapDowngrade=V0
    SampleSplitDowngrade=V0
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/Crossfire/chain]
    NumChains=V1
    [AMDPCSROOT/SYSTEM/Crossfire/chain/0]
    Enable=V0
    Master=V512
    NumSlaves=V1
    Slaves=R28010000
    Anyone knows if Hybrid Crossfire is working now without having to add a cf chain somehow automatically or what the hell is going on here??

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,516

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NSLW View Post
    Thank you for your reply. I'm very disappointed with fglrx compatibility with non-Ubuntu distributions.
    Just to be clear, Fedora 10 is not a supported distribution for fglrx. We do work closely with the Fedora devs on the open source drivers, however.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    127

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djdoo View Post
    I am confused here...
    Whenever I enable the cf chain I made for my adapters=0,1 with the command:

    aticonfig --cf=on --adapter=0

    I get the black screen of death!
    When I set this value to 'off' I get my system back!
    But the strange thing is that when I opened /etc/ati/amdpcsdb file with Kwrite app it writes these:


    Anyone knows if Hybrid Crossfire is working now without having to add a cf chain somehow automatically or what the hell is going on here??
    Did it the same way as you (Ubuntu 8.04.2, 64 bits version):

    aticonfig --lsa
    0 HD 3200 *
    1 HD 3450

    aticonfig --cfa --adapter=1,0 // as HD 3450 was listed as adapter 1
    aticonfig --cf=on adapter=1 // as HD 3450 was listed as adapter 1

    I didn't restart X in between.

    Worked fine. Though I made sure no monitor/screen sections were in the xorg.conf that were using the HD3200 (according to Xorg.conf).
    Last edited by Heiko; 01-30-2009 at 11:46 AM.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    32

    Default

    still no F10/Xorg 1.5 support?

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,727

    Default

    wtf? xserver 1.5 is supported since 8.12 or something like that.

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,516

    Default

    I think the issue here is F10, not Xserver 1.5. We do not support Fedora with the fglrx driver although up-front work done for RHEL (which we do support) often helps Fedora as well.

    On the other hand we do work closely with the Fedora developers on the open source drivers, and F10 does have pretty much the latest open source code available at the time it locked down.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •