Page 12 of 13 FirstFirst ... 210111213 LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 130

Thread: how to get XV, DRI working on HD 3300 (rv620) ??

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    If xrender is butt slow and xvinfo has no screens that usually means that the drm code is either wrong or missing and you have no acceleration at all.

    Are you using drm built from either the 6xx-7xx support branch or drm/next ? If so, can you pastebin x log and dmesg output ?

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    25

    Default

    pedepy,

    It sounds like you didn't get the updated drm. Follow the instructions from here.
    http://wiki.x.org/wiki/radeonhd%3Ar6xx_r7xx_branch

    Find the existing drm.ko and radeon.ko kernel modules on your system and back them up, then replace them with the newly built versions.

    If you are in X, you need to drop out of X into a console. If running 'lsmod | grep radeon' shows any loaded modules, you will need to 'modprobe -r radeon' and 'modprobe -r drm'

    run 'depmod' to make sure the system sees the new files and restart X. See if this works any better. You can also check the X.org.log to see if any DRM messages appear to say all is working well. You should also have working Xv, and xvinfo should show more than no screens found.

  3. #113
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default

    but.. i have a mobility x1600, which i understand is r5xx.....

    ???

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    You're right

    Sorry, it was a 6xx/7xx thread accel so *naturally* we assumed...

    In that case your problem may be easier to fix. Do you have Option "DRI" in the Device section of your config file ?
    Last edited by bridgman; 03-20-2009 at 12:34 AM.

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    403

    Default

    @pedepy

    3d, Xv, and Xrender should be working fast and shiny for your card, so there must be something wrong with your config (or a driver bug). Post your xorg log, and maybe I can tell you what's wrong.

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default

    yea figures..

    well anyway, the 'regular' radeon driver seems to work, only kwin compositing under opengl mode still doesnt work. xrender just doesnt cut it especially for transparency effects on moving windows and fading effects .....

    Are you saying that opengl compositing just wont happen with radeon ? I have 'direct rendering' enabled .... glxinfo says so, and glxgears report "decent" fps ... the only thing is kwin just wont enable it. its not be verbose about it........

    i didnt try compiz.

    edit: ive also just tried a wine game, simcity 4, and its slooooooooooooow and clogged with colorful artifacts in place of textures...

    anyway, here's my xorg.conf (i have to do some cleaning up in there, but i dont think this is the problem)..


    Code:
     
     
     
     
    Section "ServerLayout"
     
        Identifier  "Simple Layout"
     
        Screen    0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
     
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "Touchpad"  "AlwaysCore"
     
        InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
        InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
        InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
    EndSection
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Section "Files"
     
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF"
    	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1"
    EndSection
     
    Section "Module"
     
        Load       "glx"
        Load       "dri"
        Load       "drm"
     
    	Load  "dbe"  	# Double buffer extension
    	SubSection "extmod"
    		Option	    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    	EndSubSection
    	Load  "freetype"
    EndSection
     
    Section "InputDevice"
     
    	Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    	Option	    "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    	Option	    "XkbRules" "xorg"
    	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc102"
    	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
     
    Section "InputDevice"
     
    	Identifier  "Mouse1"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "Auto"	# Auto detect
    	Option	    "Device" "mouse"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
     
    Section "InputDevice"
            Identifier      "Touchpad"
            Driver          "synaptics"
    	Option "Device"    "/dev/psaux"
            Option  "Protocol"      "auto-dev"
            Option  "LeftEdge"      "1700"
            Option  "RightEdge"     "5300"
            Option  "TopEdge"       "1700"
            Option  "BottomEdge"    "4200"
    	Option  "TapButton1"    "1"
    	Option  "TapButton2"    "2"
    	Option  "TapButton3"    "3"
     
     
    	Option      "VertEdgeScroll"    "true"  # enable vertical scroll zone
    	Option      "HorizEdgeScroll"   "true"  # enable horizontal scroll zone
     
            Option  "FingerLow"     "25"
            Option  "FingerHigh"    "30"
            Option  "MaxTapTime"    "180"
            Option  "MaxTapMove"    "220"
            Option  "VertScrollDelta" "100"
            Option  "MinSpeed"      "0.06"
            Option  "MaxSpeed"      "0.12"
            Option  "AccelFactor" "0.0010"
            Option  "SHMConfig"     "on"
    EndSection
     
     
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Driver  "wacom"
    	Identifier "stylus"
    	Option        "Device"       "/dev/input/wacom"
    	Option        "Type"         "stylus"
    	Option        "USB"          "on"                 # USB ONLY
    	Option        "Mode"         "Relative"           # other option: "Absolute"
    	Option        "Vendor"       "WACOM"
    	Option        "tilt"         "on"  # add this if your tablet supports tilt
    	Option        "Threshold"    "3"   # the official linuxwacom howto advises this line
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Driver        "wacom"
    	Identifier    "eraser"
    	Option        "Device"       "/dev/input/wacom"
    	Option        "Type"         "eraser"
    	Option        "USB"          "on"                  # USB ONLY
    	Option        "Mode"         "Relative"            # other option: "Absolute"
    	Option        "Vendor"       "WACOM"
    	Option        "tilt"         "on"  # add this if your tablet supports tilt
    	Option        "Threshold"    "3"   # the official linuxwacom howto advises this line
    EndSection
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Driver        "wacom"
    	Identifier    "cursor"
    	Option        "Device"       "/dev/input/wacom"
    	Option        "Type"         "cursor"
    	Option        "USB"          "on"                  # USB ONLY
    	Option        "Mode"         "Relative"            # other option: "Absolute"
    	Option        "Vendor"       "WACOM"
    EndSection
     
     
     
     
     
    Section "Monitor"
     
    	Identifier   "My Monitor"
    	HorizSync    31.5 - 31.5
    	VertRefresh  50.0 - 70.0
    EndSection
     
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
     
    Section "Device"
     
    	Identifier  "Standard VGA"
    	Driver      "vga"
    	VendorName  "Unknown"
    	BoardName   "Unknown"
    EndSection
     
     
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "radeoncard"
        Driver  "radeon"
       BusID     "PCI:1:0:0"
     
       Option "TexturedVideo" "Enabled"
       Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps" "true"
       Option "DRI" "true"
    EndSection
     
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option "Composite" "Enable"
    EndSection
     
     
    Section "Device"
     
    	# unsupported card
    	Identifier  "videocard"
    	Driver      "vga"
    EndSection
     
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen 1"
    	Device     "radeoncard"
    	Monitor    "My Monitor"
    	DefaultDepth     24
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       8
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       16
            Modes       "1920x1080" "1680x1050" "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes       "1920x1080" "1680x1050" "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1280x800" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
     
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    	Device     "radeoncard"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
     
     
     
    Section "DRI"
       Group "video"
       Mode  0666
    EndSection
    Last edited by pedepy; 03-20-2009 at 01:11 AM.

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default

    ooooooook

    more updates..


    I added lines 'AccelRender' and 'AGPMode' '4' and somehow its now accepting OpenGL compositing. There is one thing where 'startup' performance seems alot better and it degrades after a short while, although I suspect this to be a kwin issue rather than something to do with the display driver (I had similar problems with fglrx 8.8 and 9.2)

    Anyway ........ this is nice. Windows resizing is snappy, video is ok (although not redirected, yet), and overall this feels better than any version of fglrx ive ever tried.

    I wonder why that is.....

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    94

    Default

    uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    i stand corrected ......... xv video is redirected ...

    WTF is this driver ? why is it doing everything fglrx has been trying to do for the last 24 months ?.........?????????????????

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Erm, guys? Do you have any ideas about why this 'plasma effect' occurs?
    Last edited by jabbas; 03-20-2009 at 07:33 AM.

  10. #120

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pedepy View Post
    I added lines 'AccelRender' and 'AGPMode' '4' and somehow its now accepting OpenGL compositing.
    This can't be. There is no 3D stack for r600 and above. Composite via xrender should work but not OpenGL. You should finde something like this in your xorg.log:
    Code:
    (EE) AIGLX error: Calling driver entry point failed(EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
    (II) AIGLX: Loaded and initialized /usr/lib64/dri/swrast_dri.so
    (II) GLX: Initialized DRISWRAST GL provider for screen 0
    And with software rendering composite doesn't work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •