Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: AMD Phenom II questions

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default AMD Phenom II questions

    has there been any testing or benchmarking of AMD new Phenom II 920 or 940 with Linux? I'm planning to build a new system in the next couple of weeks with a 970GX Motherboard Phenom II 920 or 940 ,4Gb Ram, a HD4850, and Ubuntu 8.10 I'm not sure if I'm going to do 64 bit or not, and have been looking for benchmarks to help with my decision. Also has there been any testing of ATI catalysis 9.10 with a system like this.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Well an Intel E6600 + Nvidia 8800 GTS 512 beats that config with Linux games like nexuiz *g*

    http://global.phoronix-test-suite.co...4926-3248-8692
    Last edited by Kano; 02-07-2009 at 02:17 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Well an Intel E6600 + Nvidia 8800 GTS 512 beats that config with Linux games like nexuiz *g*

    http://global.phoronix-test-suite.co...4926-3248-8692

    That's more due to video card then processor.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,155

    Default

    Kano's statement is based on a benchmark I made which had lower results due to a fglrx bug I ran into (very high CPU usage during the test due to EDID & modeline request spamming by the driver, causing short freezes every few seconds).

    I've got a Phenom II X4 940 on a 790GX/SB750 based motherboard (MSI DKA790GX) with a HD 4850 and like my system

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by d2kx View Post
    Kano's statement is based on a benchmark I made which had lower results due to a fglrx bug I ran into (very high CPU usage during the test due to EDID & modeline request spamming by the driver, causing short freezes every few seconds).

    I've got a Phenom II X4 940 on a 790GX/SB750 based motherboard (MSI DKA790GX) with a HD 4850 and like my system
    Well it's still your video card that is holding you back. You proc is not your bottleneck. Compare your latest run:

    http://global.phoronix-test-suite.co...745-27234-5490

    vs a system with more graphics horsepower with a 9850 OC'd to 3 Ghz running at a higher res.

    http://global.phoronix-test-suite.co...376-32355-7283

    You can see that it's not the proc holding you back.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,798

    Default

    CPU is good. Graphics card is not.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Well a benchmark with 1680x1050 would be better, not everybody has a 1920x1200 to bench against.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Well a benchmark with 1680x1050 would be better, not everybody has a 1920x1200 to bench against.
    Happy now? http://global.phoronix-test-suite.co...23-30010-25949

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,641

    Default

    Well I still think that your system has a timer issue as your hd benchmarks are too high compared to others too. A 8800 GTS 512 is usually faster than a 8800 GT or did you use SLI? nexuiz runs only on one core basically so quad would not gain anything - you could test that with max_cpu=2 kernel option.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    Well I still think that your system has a timer issue as your hd benchmarks are too high compared to others too. A 8800 GTS 512 is usually faster than a 8800 GT or did you use SLI? nexuiz runs only on one core basically so quad would not gain anything - you could test that with max_cpu=2 kernel option.
    My system is SLI (running afr), thus why I said the CPU is not the bottleneck and on a system with more graphics power gains are had, if the cpu was a bottleneck there would be no gain in SLI mode.
    Last edited by deanjo; 02-08-2009 at 12:39 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •