Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Compiz blur with fglrx

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    It does NOT work on 9.11. Anyone claiming otherwise, provide evidence.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unimatrix View Post
    It does NOT work on 9.11. Anyone claiming otherwise, provide evidence.
    I was about to boot my ati workstation to capture a screenshot but then thought what the hell. Too bad it doesn't work for you, check that the driver is installed correctly and post a bug report to http://ati.cchtml.com/

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackStar View Post
    I was about to boot my ati workstation to capture a screenshot but then thought what the hell. Too bad it doesn't work for you, check that the driver is installed correctly and post a bug report to http://ati.cchtml.com/
    How can the driver not be installed correctly? It's not like I unpacked it and went copying files manually.
    I did it by:
    Code:
    ./ati-driver-installer-9-11-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg Ubuntu/karmic
    sudo dpkg -i *.deb
    There weren't any problems (DKMS did its job), and packages have the apropriate version (8.671), so what else could possibly be wrong?

    As for reporting bugs, is it really worth it? Do they even look at the reports?

    PS:
    I also have the xserver-no-backfill patch. Could that be the problem? I had to use it because of this bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+s...er/+bug/351186
    Last edited by unimatrix; 12-13-2009 at 07:38 AM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,099

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unimatrix View Post
    How can the driver not be installed correctly? It's not like I unpacked it and went copying files manually.
    I did it by:
    Code:
    ./ati-driver-installer-9-11-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg Ubuntu/karmic
    sudo dpkg *.deb
    There weren't any problems (DKMS did its job), and packages have the apropriate version (8.671), so what else could possibly be wrong?
    No clue, every system is different. It might be that there is some driver file left-over from some earlier version which pollutes your installation. It might be that there is a driver bug that affects your specific hardware.

    One thing that might help is to install the ubuntu-provided driver (via the "hardware drivers") and then *remove* via the same applet. It is said that this will ensure your system is clean for the new driver.

    As for reporting bugs, is it really worth it? Do they even look at the reports?
    Yes, they do. Depending on the bug report, you may get surprisingly quick responces from driver developers. Or not, if the bug is not deemed as high priority.

    Still, there is a bug report on compiz blur, so adding your hardware details is probably worth it.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by unimatrix View Post
    It does NOT work on 9.11. Anyone claiming otherwise, provide evidence.
    http://adam.npark.com/blur.jpg

    It most certainly DOES work on 9.11.

    Adam

    EDIT: Fix URL.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    SOLVED

    Well, looks like none of you knew this, but to make blur work, you have to enable Compiz's Workarounds plugin, and check the "AIGLX Fragment Parameter Fix", otherwise it won't work.

    Try it yourselves.
    Last edited by unimatrix; 12-13-2009 at 07:46 AM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    It works here without that option:

    http://adam.npark.com/blur2.jpg

    Adam

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by adamk View Post
    It works here without that option:

    http://adam.npark.com/blur2.jpg

    Adam

    That's strange. It appears that we've discovered another weird bug. Can someone else (NeoBrain ?) confirm this, because it clearly is the solution in my case.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Yeah, didn't work for me either, but with the fragment parameter fix it does. Thanks a bunch

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    I had to use the alpha blur to make it work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •