Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: catalyst 8.10+ not working with tv-out

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default catalyst 8.10+ not working with tv-out

    Hi,
    Starting from catalyst 8.10, I can't get the tv-out working (with both X1.4 and 1.5).. I just get a black screen

    Here is the log:

    http://rafb.net/p/W7ZJnh33.html

    suggestions?

    P.S. I have an ati R690G chipset based (ASUS VM-2A-HDMI)
    Last edited by kkkk; 12-18-2008 at 07:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default

    ok, I've upgraded to catalyst 8.12 and now I get this log:

    http://rafb.net/p/hHWxKP72.html

    and black screen as before

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default

    ok, I found that fglrx module was not loaded.
    Dmesg said:

    Code:
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_MTRR_AddRegionWc
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_OsVersionString
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_Alloc
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_OsVersionCode
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_ReleaseLinearAddrInterval
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionPhysAddrStr
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_SmpSupport
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_STATIC_Down
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_MapConstant
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_SmallBufferAlloc
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_MTRR_DeleteRegion
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MODULE_IncUseCount
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_Unmap
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SPINLOCK_STATIC_Grab
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_FreePageFrame
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_FlushCpuCaches
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_ASYNCIO_Init
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_MapPageList
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_TemporaryUseUnmap
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SIGNAL_UnblockAll
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionMapOffset
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_Free
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_FreePageFrames
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_MapRegion
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_DEVICE_GetNumber
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_BinaryModuleSupport
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MODULE_DecUseCount
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_ACPI_GetAcpiHandles
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SIGNAL_BlockAll
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_PaeSupport
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_SmallBufferFree
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VerifyWriteAccess
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionStart
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_DownUninterruptible
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionFilePrivateData
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_ASYNCIO_Alloc
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_AllocAtomic
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_ACPI_AcNotify
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionProtFlagsStr
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SIGNAL_Notifier
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_TimerTicksPerSecond
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_ASYNCIO_Free
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_SmallBufferAllocAtomic
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_Up
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_DownInterruptible
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SPINLOCK_STATIC_Release
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_AllocContiguousPageFrames
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionFlagsStr
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VerifyReadAccess
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_Init
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_MapPageListWc
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_VM_GetRegionEnd
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_PageSize
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_IncPageUseCount
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_GetObjSize
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_AllocLinearAddrInterval
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SIGNAL_ConfigureMask
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_AllocPageFrame
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_SEMAPHORE_STATIC_Up
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_PROC_FileList
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_DecPageUseCount
    fglrx: Unknown symbol KCL_MEM_MTRR_Support
    I tried to rebuild kernel, and at depmod, I get:

    Code:
      DEPMOD  2.6.28-rc6
    WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.28-rc6/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol KCL_MEM_MTRR_AddRegionWc
    WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.28-rc6/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol KCL_SYSINFO_OsVersionString
    WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.28-rc6/video/fglrx.ko needs unknown symbol KCL_MEM_Alloc
    ...
    ...
    Could be a 2.6.28 problem? Should I have to downgrade the kernel?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    404

    Default

    That looks like a kernel compatibility issue. I recommend not using development kernels with fglrx, because there's no guarantee of binary compatibility between kernel releases, and AMD only compiles their driver against a new kernel every few months.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    988

    Default

    As I understand it fglrx consists of the actual binary driver and a glue layer that you compile for your kernel. So I don't see how this could be a case of binary incompatibility. I have no problem whatsoever with catalyst 8.12 on 2.6.28-rc8.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,631

    Default

    The kernel can be used - one of the kernel updates which did NOT require driver changes. Your kernel config must be just wrong. Btw rc9 is out

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default

    ok,
    I recompiled the kernel and catalyst, and I returned to the 8.10/11 error..
    Here is the updated log:

    http://rafb.net/p/rq1MF944.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default

    here is the xorg.conf

    http://rafb.net/p/SyUo8B22.html

    looking at a catalyst 8.9 log:

    http://rafb.net/p/pyrUjH29.html

    the AUDITS errors happen when X should run the input devices...
    so can it be a wrong input section configuration?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default

    well, I've made some more testing.
    I noticed that xorg has modified automatically my xorg.conf to:

    http://rafb.net/p/26HoVb28.html

    I rebooted many times and then X started working well for some time, but at some point (?) it returned back to the previous situation, with this log:

    http://rafb.net/p/sx3LvU92.html

    Also, if I try to start gdm, "seems" like X tries to change resolution (or maybe restart itself) 3 times (I can see "horizontal lines").

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    37

    Default

    I found that deleting the /etc/ati/amdpcsdb solved the problem,
    but sometimes (very often) the black screen returns and I have to delete again the file... and reconfigure all the settings with amdcccle
    Is there a solution?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •