Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 165

Thread: Catalyst 9.2 Released, Still Fails To Deliver XvBA

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JeanPaul145 View Post
    I'm talking about simple basic operations like moving a program window or scrolling through something (like a website or a list of contacts, both work far from smooth).

    Here are the Xorg.0.log and the dmesg output.
    I've taken both snapshots of these logs while having fglrx uninstalled and my xorg.conf set to
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
    	Driver      "radeonhd"
    	Option      "AccelMethod" "exa" # default shadowfb
            Option      "DRI" "on"
    EndSection
    So drm module fails to load. be sure you compile r6xx-r7xx brunch of mesa/drm and be sure you copied drm.ko and radeon.ko to right places. It depends on distros. So you have to overwrite the existing ones.

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JeanPaul145 View Post
    I'm talking about simple basic operations like moving a program window or scrolling through something (like a website or a list of contacts, both work far from smooth).

    Here are the Xorg.0.log and the dmesg output.
    I've taken both snapshots of these logs while having fglrx uninstalled and my xorg.conf set to
    Code:
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
    	Driver      "radeonhd"
    	Option      "AccelMethod" "exa" # default shadowfb
            Option      "DRI" "on"
    EndSection
    @rahman.duran:
    Yeah, I just did the whole process again, just to be sure I didn't miss anything on [url=http://xorg.freedesktop.org/wiki/radeonhd:r6xx_r7xx_branch]this page[/url. But I followed those instructions to the letter.
    You should note that I have a R7xx gfx card, for which the support is still quite incomplete, and I imagine that the HD3200 igp uses the R6xx driver. That might make a huge difference.
    Weird. I have the same IGP as you. Have you copied drm.ko and radeon.ko to the right places? On Ubuntu, it should be:

    /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm.ko
    and
    /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko

    check with lsmod if the drm module is really inserted and whether it's used by radeon (module).
    Last edited by susikala; 02-22-2009 at 05:16 PM.

  3. #113
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rahman.duran View Post
    So drm module fails to load. be sure you compile r6xx-r7xx brunch of mesa/drm and be sure you copied drm.ko and radeon.ko to right places. It depends on distros. So you have to overwrite the existing ones.
    Ah. That might be the problem, as I actually mkdirred a drm dir in /lib/modules/2.6.27-11-generic/kernel/drivers/char/.
    OK, I'll try and fix that, and let you guys know what happens.

    EDIT: it is a big difference indeed!
    Scrolling works as smoothly as with fglrx now. nice!
    I can't wait to use this fulltime!
    Right now the main thing is working compiz with radeonhd, so I guess that would mean waiting for 3D support.
    Maybe someone can tell me: is 3D acceleration a must for compiz as a whole, or just for certain plugins? I ask because most (if not all) of the plugins I use look fairly 2D to me (think fadein and fadeout, and although not a compiz plugin, I also want/need AWN support).

    Also, I can't really test how radeonhd holds its own against fglrx in fullscreen video until compiz support is in a working state, since that was my problem in the first place - the whole gdm/X/fglrx/Mesa stack locks up if I forget to turn off compiz when watching a video.
    Last edited by JeanPaul145; 02-22-2009 at 05:44 PM.

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I *think* the "Unredirect Fullscreen Windows" option should let the video accel code go straight to the front buffer and skip the extra overhead.
    OMG! "Unredirect..." has been enabled for sooo long I completely forgot about it!
    I unchecked it & now have stable flicker free XV playback!

    My only trouble now is X going blank whenever I switch from battery to AC. I can CTRL-ALT into console & then back to X & problem is resolved...any ideas anyone?

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Same problem here, Powerplay seems to be broken in this release. I have a x1600 mobility but aticonfig say my hardware doesn't support powerplay. And just like you or Oyvind I have a blank screen when I switch form battery to AC (the auto-powerstate is still enabled??).

    So I'm back to 9-1 and I hope this will be fixed in the Catalyst 9-3.

    I'm using Kubuntu 8.10 x86
    Last edited by rafi; 02-22-2009 at 05:43 PM.

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Same problem here, Powerplay seems to be broken in this release. I have a x1600 mobility but aticonfig say my hardware doesn't support powerplay. And just like you or Oyvind I have a blank screen when I switch form battery to AC (the auto-powerstate is still enabled??).
    It seems
    Code:
    aticonfig --auto-powerstates=off
    solves the problem for now.

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JeanPaul145 View Post
    Ah. That might be the problem, as I actually mkdirred a drm dir in /lib/modules/2.6.27-11-generic/kernel/drivers/char/.
    OK, I'll try and fix that, and let you guys know what happens.

    EDIT: it is a big difference indeed!
    Scrolling works as smoothly as with fglrx now. nice!
    I can't wait to use this fulltime!
    Right now the main thing is working compiz with radeonhd, so I guess that would mean waiting for 3D support.
    Maybe someone can tell me: is 3D acceleration a must for compiz as a whole, or just for certain plugins? I ask because most (if not all) of the plugins I use look fairly 2D to me (think fadein and fadeout, and although not a compiz plugin, I also want/need AWN support).

    Also, I can't really test how radeonhd holds its own against fglrx in fullscreen video until compiz support is in a working state, since that was my problem in the first place - the whole gdm/X/fglrx/Mesa stack locks up if I forget to turn off compiz when watching a video.
    Well, we have gone a lot off topic If you want to use compiz composite then you have to wait for 3D support. It is not about the effects dimension but it is about how compositing manager does its job; via OpenGL or Xrender. compiz only supports opengl as I know. But kde 4.x compositing supports both opengl and xrender. So you can use composite effects on kde 4.x with xrender option (as we have nice exa accel for our radeonhd ).

  8. #118
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    If you're running Gnome you might want to give Metacity a try.

  9. #119
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by susikala View Post
    Weird. I have the same IGP as you. Have you copied drm.ko and radeon.ko to the right places? On Ubuntu, it should be:

    /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/drm.ko
    and
    /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon.ko

    check with lsmod if the drm module is really inserted and whether it's used by radeon (module).
    Sorry for more offtopic, but i tried radeonhd as well and i wasn't successful. I'm using Ubuntu Hardy, but i don't have a directory named 'gpu' in /lib/modules/kernel-version/kernel/drivers .

  10. #120
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    I think Hardy has the older drm layout; the gpu folders were added fairly recently. Look for an existing file called radeon.ko ; that's the folder you want.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •