Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ATI Horrible 3D

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default ATI Horrible 3D

    Hello,

    I have an ATI video Device ATI 9800 SE 256 MB, installed ati-driver-installer-9.2-x86.x86_64.run from ATI website, all went well, but I have big problem with 3D applications.

    System is Slackware 12.1, with 2 GB Ram and AMD Athlon XP 2500+, here the result of lspci:

    00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8377 [KT400/KT600 AGP] Host Bridge
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 PCI Bridge
    00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
    00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
    00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 80)
    00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 82)
    00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8235 ISA Bridge
    00:11.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 50)
    00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 74)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R350 AH [Radeon 9800]
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon R350 [Radeon 9800] (Secondary)

    3D objects appear to have big scaled borders of random colors:

    I enclose image:



    Any clue on how to solve it?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,279

    Default

    Can someone post a pic of what this image is supposed to look like ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    315

    Default

    How can you use 64 bit ati driver on a 32 bit cpu? You probably need to install an i386 or i586 or i686 pacakgae whatever slackware calls it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hephasteus View Post
    How can you use 64 bit ati driver on a 32 bit cpu? You probably need to install an i386 or i586 or i686 pacakgae whatever slackware calls it.
    The 64-bit and 32-bit driver are all in one package from driver site. He's most likely using the 32-bit driver.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,098

    Default

    More importantly, what game is that? Could be some Windows game running in Wine for all we know.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    More importantly, what game is that? Could be some Windows game running in Wine for all we know.
    No, it's http://www.planeshift.it, wich has a native version for linux. I use 32 bit driver, wich is packed together with 64 bit version.

    Under wine same problem, anyway.

    I add an image in wich is more clear that problem:


    This was taken under wine running World of Warcraft; but result is the same. Sure you can notice random portions of the dwarf painted as the floor...

    While the problem stands both in native and emulated applications, i think the problem is not in Wine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •