Page 9 of 19 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 186

Thread: AMD solve the Wine Problem with Cat/Fglrx 9-4alpfa

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    My X1950XT was working very fine with Windows. All games ran as intended, including full Shader Model 3.0 support.
    And waht is the dynamic-wather nvidia only exstansion ?

    do this run to ?

    my hd4350 can render the dynamic-wather extansion!

    and yes we are not talking abaut windows we are talking abaut wine..

    wine can NOT render direktX9C-shader3 on an X1950!

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,766

    Default

    This sounds like it's Wine's problem. Most people don't want to update their card because of a shitty program :-/

    And yes, Wine *is* a shitty program.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    68

    Default

    yep, I can definitely confirm that it fixes some wine problems. CNC3 doesn't slow down anymore, kudos to AMD developers keep up the great work!

    Theres still shader corruptions, though but any progress makes me happy.

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    This sounds like it's Wine's problem. Most people don't want to update their card because of a shitty program :-/

    And yes, Wine *is* a shitty program.
    Geometrical Dynamic Wather :



    try this with your X1900!!!!!

    http://www.behardware.com/art/imprimer/616/


    "With the Radeon X1000, ATI missed a function that was apparently required to support Vertex Shader 3.0,[...]
    How is it possible for ATI to support Vertex Shader 3.0 without vertex texturing? It’s apparently a trick, or to be more accurate, the exploitation of a loophole in DirectX 9 specifications. Vertex texturing support seems to come from the support of vertex shader 3.0 and there are no specifically devoted caps that indicate its support or absence. A GPU manufacturer, however, has to specify which level of filtering is supported in the vertex shader (point sampling, bilinear filtering, anisotropic filtering etc.) to support the vertex shader 3.0. Then for each texture format, it must be indicated if it’s usable in vertex shaders. And this is where the loophole is. Microsoft forgot to make at least one of the formats obligatory. In other words, ATI tells DirectX to support vertex texturing in point sampling but doesn’t authorize it on any texture format. It’s rather subtle, but enough to pass all DirectX specifications and not support vertex texturing in practice while obtaining Vertex Shader 3.0 certification."


    Sauerbraten can handel this to on modern Carts

    no Wine in Sauerbraten!




    Edit: YES wine is a shity programm becourse wine puts the shit (windows) into linux
    Last edited by Qaridarium; 03-12-2009 at 01:56 AM.

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by poofyyoda View Post
    yep, I can definitely confirm that it fixes some wine problems. CNC3 doesn't slow down anymore, kudos to AMD developers keep up the great work!

    Theres still shader corruptions, though but any progress makes me happy.
    :-) nice!

    9-4 is not in the end status there will come more fixes i think!

    but you sould know not all bugs are Catalyst bugs many bugs are wine bugs to!

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Qaridarium View Post
    please post /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log

    and the /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier     "Default Layout"
            Screen         "Default Screen"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
            Driver      "fglrx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Default Screen"
            Device     "Configured Video Device"
            Monitor    "Configured Monitor"
            DefaultDepth     24
    EndSection
    My fglrx-install.log:
    Hmm I can't find it anywhere. Even with locate it doesn find it.
    Code:
    sudo updatedb
    locate fglrx-install.log
    Thank you so much for your help :-)

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,712

    Default

    since there are no seeders - how many of you killed the torrent as soon as they got the file? that is not nice ...

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by energyman View Post
    since there are no seeders - how many of you killed the torrent as soon as they got the file? that is not nice ...
    there is no seeder the torrend is a fake!

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,712

    Default

    good to know - so.. where did you 'get it'?

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    5,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tball View Post
    xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
            Identifier     "Default Layout"
            Screen         "Default Screen"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
            Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier  "Configured Video Device"
            Driver      "fglrx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Default Screen"
            Device     "Configured Video Device"
            Monitor    "Configured Monitor"
            DefaultDepth     24
    EndSection
    My fglrx-install.log:
    Hmm I can't find it anywhere. Even with locate it doesn find it.
    Code:
    sudo updatedb
    locate fglrx-install.log
    Thank you so much for your help :-)
    you can try a "aticonfig --initial"

    and you can try to replace your xorg.config like this :


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "aticonfig Layout"
    Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    Option "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    Option "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    Option "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    Driver "fglrx"
    BusID "PCI:5:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0"
    Device "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
    Monitor "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •