Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: ati radeon 4850 on BSD + Solaris

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default ati radeon 4850 on BSD + Solaris

    I read the review of the 4850 under Linux.
    What is the performance like on BSD + Solaris ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Not existant? There are no binary-drivers for BSD/Solaris, and radeon (which afaik has been ported to FreeBSD) doesn't support any acceleration yet on r600 and younger GPUs.
    And even if it would, I have no idea how this would work (afaik there are no DRI-Modules for BSD?).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhick View Post
    Not existant? There are no binary-drivers for BSD/Solaris, and radeon (which afaik has been ported to FreeBSD) doesn't support any acceleration yet on r600 and younger GPUs.
    And even if it would, I have no idea how this would work (afaik there are no DRI-Modules for BSD?).
    Actually, FreeBSD does support DRI. So, theoretically, once the open source drivers mature enough to support acceleration on r600 and higher GPUs, these drivers will hopefully work on FreeBSD with a little bit of porting.

    Adam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    I think both of the open drivers run on 48xx today with shadowfb "acceleration", which isn't bad for most 2d work. Don't know if anyone has tried 48xx on BSD or Solaris with them, but the drivers themselves work on both OSes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    I think both of the open drivers run on 48xx today with shadowfb "acceleration", which isn't bad for most 2d work. Don't know if anyone has tried 48xx on BSD or Solaris with them, but the drivers themselves work on both OSes.
    I should have been more specific.
    I will do my gaming in Windows,
    but I want to try DesktopBSD, PCBSD
    and OpenSolaris and many Linux Distros
    on my new PC. I do not want to use integrated graphics.
    For now 2D on these will be fine.
    Would I be better off with an Nvidea video card ?
    Better drivers ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    621

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spkert View Post
    i read the review of the 4850 under linux.
    What is the performance like on bsd + solaris ?
    <(((((<(

    .
    .
    .
    .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I have a 4850 (also have 2x2GB dual channel ram modules) and I wasn't able to do much. I was tring it out through a Virtual Box install of BSD. Xorg -configure Crashed to a black screen every time; and configured to VESA; running '# Xorg -config /root/xorg.conf.new' would infact load & startx would load twm - though using only the VESA; radeon crashed saying no detectable device. but I have no mouse :S lol. KDM on the other hand would not boot at all. whats weird about the mouse is its a Logitech wireless keyboard mouse combo with the receiver being a usb and green mouse serial connection.. which is plugged into the keyboard port as my board only has the keyboard port.. mouse and keyboard work fine in windows.. but in BSD only the keyboard would work.. any ideas about the mouse :P probably should ask in the BSD forum :P And I've tried many configurations for the mouse to try and get it working..

    but Im going to try kubuntu in Virtual Box see how that works out for me..
    Last edited by Lego; 03-26-2009 at 01:59 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    VirtualBox creates its own virtualized GPU. To the guest operating system, you are *not* using a Radeon video card.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    3

    Default

    ah, so it won't matter what OS I use in the Virtual Box?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    352

    Default

    Correct. None of them will see your GPU has a radeon.

    Adam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •