Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24

Thread: dri2 and/or kms status?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    182

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    It will most likely be 2.6.31 since the merge window for 2.6.30 is closing soon.
    What chipsets may we expect to see supported in 2.6.31?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Lithuania
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zajec View Post
    What chipsets may we expect to see supported in 2.6.31?
    If kms will be merged then R100-R500.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zajec View Post
    What chipsets may we expect to see supported in 2.6.31?
    Hopefully r1xx-r7xx.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Hopefully r1xx-r7xx.
    Best news I've read today!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sandain View Post
    Best news I've read today!
    In the recent kernel logs and IRC convos I have definitely seen some things about radeon-specific enhancements in .30

    This wouldn't be KMS by any chance? That would be quite surprising.

    http://kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v...6.29-git10.log

    There is specific stuff about r600 in there (ctrl f)

    Why is r600 mentioned at all in the kernel logs if not KMS?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EmbraceUnity View Post
    In the recent kernel logs and IRC convos I have definitely seen some things about radeon-specific enhancements in .30

    This wouldn't be KMS by any chance? That would be quite surprising.

    http://kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/v...6.29-git10.log

    There is specific stuff about r600 in there (ctrl f)

    Why is r600 mentioned at all in the kernel logs if not KMS?
    2.6.30 adds r6xx/r7xx drm support for 2D and video acceleration (EXA and Xv). There is no radeon KMS support in 2.6.30.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Ok, so I have got all the git branches compiled and running, with the exception of the DDX driver. For some reason it won't let me compile it.

    Code:
    radeon_textured_video.c: In function ‘RADEONPutImageTextured’:
    radeon_textured_video.c:505: error: ‘struct _ScrnInfoRec’ has no member named ‘fboffset’
    radeon_textured_video.c:510: error: ‘struct _ScrnInfoRec’ has no member named ‘fboffset’
    radeon_textured_video.c:572: error: ‘struct _ScrnInfoRec’ has no member named ‘fboffset’
    make[1]: *** [radeon_textured_video.lo] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/xf86-video-ati-airlied/xf86-video-ati/src'
    make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    Any tips? I have R500
    Last edited by EmbraceUnity; 04-04-2009 at 09:14 PM.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    299

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by EmbraceUnity View Post
    Ok, so I have got all the git branches compiled and running, with the exception of the DDX driver. For some reason it won't let me compile it.

    Code:
    radeon_textured_video.c: In function ‘RADEONPutImageTextured’:
    radeon_textured_video.c:505: error: ‘struct _ScrnInfoRec’ has no member named ‘fboffset’
    radeon_textured_video.c:510: error: ‘struct _ScrnInfoRec’ has no member named ‘fboffset’
    radeon_textured_video.c:572: error: ‘struct _ScrnInfoRec’ has no member named ‘fboffset’
    make[1]: *** [radeon_textured_video.lo] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/xf86-video-ati-airlied/xf86-video-ati/src'
    make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
    Any tips?
    I ran into this as well.

    I just messaged airlied on #dri-devel and he said,

    <airlied> mattst88|laptop: oops I forgot to push the fix
    It's fixed as of http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~airlied...bd8b4173b9547a
    Last edited by mattst88; 04-04-2009 at 09:12 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    thanks, I just did a git pull and it worked... guess that explains why.

    good work

    now, how do you turn DRI2 on? special xorg.conf setting?
    Last edited by EmbraceUnity; 04-04-2009 at 10:57 PM.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Well, the new stack works slightly better

    http://embraceunity.com/wp-content/u...ind-radeon.png

    too bad it doesn't go past the title screens.

    Anybody know how to test gallium?
    Last edited by EmbraceUnity; 04-05-2009 at 07:38 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •