Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: Which applications benefit from 4GB or more?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,731

    Default

    gcc - and yes, it can use lots of ram. I have seen 1gb for every make instance used by kdepim with kdeenablefinal flag. 3 make instances, 3 gb of ram used...

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    It sure helps on quad cores with "make -j5" on large packages. I guess only Arch and Gentoo users have to worry about that though :P

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    401

    Default

    I burned a 3.4GB DVD yesterday. While I didn't benchmark it, I could see how the memory monitor went from 1GB allocated to 3.4GB in straight manner. The entire process took less than 5-10 minutes on a 16x DVD burner.

    If I recall correctly it took much longer time before.

    Do you think my observation was correct? Was it an actual improvement in burning speed thanks to the extra RAM?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    When burning, there's a write cache that is used as buffer and is quite small (256MB max). Burning happens from that cache only. The rest simply got allocated by the kernel due to extra caching of files, but that doesn't speed up the burn process.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    217

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    It sure helps on quad cores with "make -j5" on large packages. I guess only Arch and Gentoo users have to worry about that though :P
    Yep, 4Gb and a Quad Core is a real joy on compiling a Gentoo system. You can also use 2 Gb on a TMPFS...

    What's the point of 2 Gb versus 4 Gb, when the price for 2 Gb is so cheap ??

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fixxer_Linux View Post
    Yep, 4Gb and a Quad Core is a real joy on compiling a Gentoo system. You can also use 2 Gb on a TMPFS...
    Yep, I have 6GB with a 4GB tmpfs Funny thing though, it's still not enough for OpenOffice 3, that sucker needs exactly 5.3GB

    What's the point of 2 Gb versus 4 Gb, when the price for 2 Gb is so cheap ??
    My thinking too. After the prices dropped significantly, I simply upgraded from 2GB to 6GB for under 40 bucks

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    130

    Default

    I have 8GB of RAM of which 2GB is devoted to a tempfs like the others here. If anything, the benefit of haveing a large disk cache is always useful.

    It would be nice though, to have more specific tweaks to the caching/preloading formula. For example, many OSes try to "learn" what applications you always want loaded, but I would much rather specify if needed. Or for example to prioritise keeping the major desktop gui in memory.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Maya and Blender also love ram depending on the model, textures and scene size.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,731

    Talking

    free
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 8173972 3378744 4795228 0 2120 1863168
    -/+ buffers/cache: 1513456 6660516
    Swap: 23446836 0 23446836

    df -h
    Dateisystem Größe Benut Verf Ben% Eingehängt auf
    rootfs 71G 21G 51G 30% /
    /dev/root 71G 21G 51G 30% /
    rc-svcdir 1,0M 100K 924K 10% /lib64/rc/init.d
    udev 10M 140K 9,9M 2% /dev
    shm 3,9G 0 3,9G 0% /dev/shm
    /dev/md2 36G 16G 21G 44% /var
    /dev/md3 765G 503G 263G 66% /home
    /dev/sdc7 222G 62G 160G 28% /mnt/filme
    tmpfs 4,0G 0 4,0G 0% /var/tmp/portage
    tmpfs 1,0G 552K 1,0G 1% /tmp

    model name : AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955 Processor



    got it yesterday (had 6gb 2x2 and 2x1gb and a X2 6000). It is such a beast when it comes to compiling.


  10. #30
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Under the bridge
    Posts
    2,153

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Maya and Blender also love ram depending on the model, textures and scene size.
    I have seen blender eat up 6GB*of RAM*for breakfast. Granted, it was a large model, but still...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •