Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 50

Thread: The Future Of UT3 On Linux Appears Uncertain

  1. #31

    Default

    In my experience, that is never a good thing to do. If the company wrongs you, deal with that but always keep your end. It's better to make it more difficult for them to lay a finger on you.

    Not sure what's up with Ryan and Epic but I'm not going to leap on unpaid bills being a source of the delay. But, I know that some developers do that until they are paid in full.

    To be frank, I think it's a complicated mess filled with contact this for that, and when they do that it goes to another guy. Likely the mess goes to the point that Epic hasn't bothered to follow up somebody and Ryan is stuck somewhere.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by xav1r View Post
    Ah, but then why if Ryan isnt getting paid what he was promised by epic, effectively getting screwed by epic, why isnt he just suing them, or publicly annoucing that this linux client is done for good, unless he is paid? NDA keeps him on a leash? If i wasnt getting paid what i was promised in a contract, i would say screw the NDA, or is he somehow loyal to Epic?
    The moment you go and do that is the moment the contracts typically dry up. Unless you're retiring, you probably don't want to play that card unless you absoposilutely need to.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by niniendowarrior View Post
    Not sure what's up with Ryan and Epic but I'm not going to leap on unpaid bills being a source of the delay. But, I know that some developers do that until they are paid in full.
    Considering the level of skillset Ryan has, I doubt that he's stuck on something. There's something up and it's NOT something coding-wise that's doing it. Ryan's pretty damn good at fixing that sort of thing. In fact, he's better than most of the other people doing it right at the moment.

    Over a year and a half delay is NOT due to being "stuck" on something in the code. It's a legal or financial hang on things. Moreover, if it was him, he'd not be bound by NDA and he'd have probably owned up to it at this point in time.

  4. #34

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Svartalf View Post
    Considering the level of skillset Ryan has, I doubt that he's stuck on something. There's something up and it's NOT something coding-wise that's doing it. Ryan's pretty damn good at fixing that sort of thing. In fact, he's better than most of the other people doing it right at the moment.

    Over a year and a half delay is NOT due to being "stuck" on something in the code. It's a legal or financial hang on things. Moreover, if it was him, he'd not be bound by NDA and he'd have probably owned up to it at this point in time.
    I find skillset very unlikely to be the cause too. But I also doubt it's financial. Whatever it is, I think it's likely to be some legal quagmire involving multiple companies that has paralyzed the entire development.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    833

    Default

    Didn't Epic churn out some time ago that things stalled due to "middleware" higgledy-piggledy ( hey I learned a new cool word :P )? I don't want to poke fingers into general directions but since GameSpy is part of the show...
    Last edited by Dragonlord; 04-13-2009 at 08:06 PM.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonlord View Post
    Didn't Epic churn out some time ago that things stalled due to "middleware" higgledy-piggledy ( hey I learned a new cool word :P )? I don't want to poke fingers into general directions but since GameSpy is part of the show...
    Heh... I wish people would quit using that stuff... It's narfy.

  7. #37

    Default

    actually i think it'd be speedtree

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    146

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leilei View Post
    actually i think it'd be speedtree
    You may be onto something. The two screenshots that have been released have no foliage outside of the houseplant in the window and vines on the side of the building which are most likely just part of the building's wall texture.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leilei View Post
    actually i think it'd be speedtree
    SpeedTree on linux is not a problem (Savage 2 uses it).

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leilei View Post
    actually i think it'd be speedtree
    And why would you think this? As someone pointed out, Savage 2 uses it- and it's out.

    Do you happen to have some basis for your remark or are you just grasping at straws?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •