Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 113

Thread: X.Org ATI Driver Supports New Power Options

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,575

    Default

    Good point -- the X2 boards have a bridge chip between the GPU and the bus connector, so changing the number of PCIE lanes on your card might require reprogramming the bridge chip as well.

    You might want to comment out or skip over the code that changes the # of lanes and see if that helps. You could probably just jimmy the switch(lanes) statement so that 4 bits was treated the same way as 16 bits.
    Last edited by bridgman; 04-15-2009 at 09:51 PM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    This code only adjusts the engine clock so far, not the memory clock; changing engine speed is pretty safe because you can block acceleration while changing the clock. Changing the memory clock reliably is more difficult. You also need some pretty complex logic to make sure that the memory clock doesn't get too low for your display bandwidth and latency requirements, or you start to get artifacts on the screen very quickly.
    Very interesting indeed!

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Remember that dynamic power management is governed by Schmidt's law -- "if you mess with something enough, it'll break".
    So power management is not really a hardware designed property, but just something that is possible because of good quality components?

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    We'll probably try to identify a subset of the information which gives the biggest power savings without being too painful to code for on all the different GPUs and systems. As with 6xx 3D, we will probably release a mix of documentation and code.

    Probably more than 10 pages but not a lot more, although if you count things like display bandwidth and latency calculations the numbers go up quickly.
    Thanks

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Looks like the 3d engine is failing to idle. I assume you only have that problem when you enable the ForceLowPowerMode? You might try commenting out the RADEONWaitForIdleMMIO(pScrn); lines in radeon_pm.c.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    You could probably just jimmy the switch(lanes) statement so that 4 bits was treated the same way as 16 bits.

    It solved the problem. My card is now a bit quieter .

    I'll try agd5f's solution as well.

    EDIT: still get a hard lock with agd5f's solution.
    Last edited by Xipeos; 04-15-2009 at 10:09 PM.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,404

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Louise View Post
    So power management is not really a hardware designed property, but just something that is possible because of good quality components?
    It's more the fact that power management ties into everything, so it's tricky to get right and still have everything work properly.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,575

    Default

    Yeah, nobody ever seems to want to transfer *into* the power management team

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    It's more the fact that power management ties into everything, so it's tricky to get right and still have everything work properly.
    So it is like programming for multiple cores?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Yeah, nobody ever seems to want to transfer *into* the power management team
    That's humour

    Reminds me of a Dilbert strip, where it was made a company policy that if something doesn't work, then blame the intern

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,575

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Louise View Post
    So it is like programming for multiple cores?
    It's sort of like programming for a constantly and unpredictably varying number of cores

  10. #40
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    It's sort of like programming for a constantly and unpredictably varying number of cores
    hahah

    Reminds me of a time where I didn't knew I should check if I got the allocated memory.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •