Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: EXA or XAA

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Question EXA or XAA

    Hi,

    I run Ubuntu Jaunty (9.04) with an NVIDIA geforce 8600GT graphics card. Sometimes response is a bit slow and i have heard that there are graphics engines called EXA or XAA and one is better than the other.

    Is this right? And how do i find out which i am using and how do i switch to the better one? Which is the better one?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,114

    Default

    Your xorg.0.log should specify what acceleration type is being used. EXA is faster.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    Your xorg.0.log should specify what acceleration type is being used. EXA is faster.
    Well, did a search for both and nothing came up - where should i be looking?

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,114

    Default

    Something like "Loading XAA" or "Acceleration in use XAA".

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pavsid View Post
    Well, did a search for both and nothing came up - where should i be looking?

    Thanks
    /var/log/Xorg.0.log

    You can search for EXA and XAA in it.

    grep XAA /var/log/Xorg.0.log

    and then:

    grep EXA /var/log/Xorg.0.log

    This will show the lines in the log containing the word "XAA" and "EXA". For me, it returns this:

    "(II) fglrx(0): Using XFree86 Acceleration Architecture (XAA)"
    Last edited by RealNC; 04-27-2009 at 04:17 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,577

    Default

    I thought I remembered someone saying that NVidia used a different acceleration architecture, ie neither XAA nor EXA.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    Something like "Loading XAA" or "Acceleration in use XAA".
    A search for EXA or XAA shows nothing, neither did a search for 'loading' but 'acceleration' came up with the following:

    Using the NVIDIA 2D acceleration architecture

    i also tried adding - Option "AccMethod" "EXA" to the device section in xorg.conf but that doesn't seem to have had any effect.

    Perhaps bridgman is right and NVIDIA use another method?

    Not sure if it's related, but Eclipse is slow as well, as is OpenOffice - but is that due to issues with Java? Is there a fix for that?

    Appreciate ur help folks

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Arctic circle, Finland
    Posts
    305

    Default

    Jep. If you use nvidia's propietary drivers you get nvidias own 2D mysterious acceleration method... What drivers are you using? For newer nvidia graphics cards the 2D performance have been poorly for a while, but there are work arounds for them. But if you have enough new driver allready, then them should be enabled by default.

    Oh the wotkaround was just adding following options to device section:
    Option "InitialPixmapPlacement" "2"
    Option "GlyphCache" "1"

    Oh and that openoffice thingy try this
    http://trailfire.com/floweringmind/marks/114156
    Hmm I just don't remember now was it faster with official sun-java or was it better to use that opensource version...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,587

    Default

    Make sure you also have

    Option "RenderAccel"

    in your device section of xorg

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for all your tips guys, i added the following to my xorg.conf in the device section:
    Code:
        
        Option 		"RenderAccel"
        Option          	"AccelMethod"    "EXA"
        Option 		"InitialPixmapPlacement" "2"
        Option 		"GlyphCache" "1"
    ..but on reboot my RAID drive wasn't mounted - any reason for this? i commented them out again and it mounted - weird no?

    Gonna try uninstalling Sun's JRE and installing OpenJDK to see if that makes Eclipse run any faster/slower

    Sorry, forgot to mention that i'm using proprietory graphics drivers as i had some problems with the open source ones - perhaps it's worth trying them out again and then enabling EXA?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •