Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Call for testing gmp-pi

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default Call for testing gmp-pi

    In search of a better pi benchmark for PTS, I came across http://h2np.net/pi/. With some modifications that I have done I'm hoping this will replace super-pi as it is not optimized at all for processors. This one at least will apply the performance patches to gmp and give more accurate results as to a processors capability when optimized. The modified verstion can be found here:

    http://www.filefactory.com/file/agf1819/n/gmp-pi_tar_gz

    Please read the readme as it contains all that is needed to install. Don't worry everything it compiles is kept locally in the make directory and will not screw up any of your systems libraries.

    Let me know if it compiles, what distro, system specs and results. It would also be helpful if you could make sure that it's maxing out the processor usage during testing

    Thank you
    Dean

    Feedback always welcome.

    Just to start off a few results of what I'm looking for:

    openSUSE 11.1 64-bit, Phenom 9850 @ stock speeds
    -compiles fine
    Results from threads.txt
    Threads: 4 Time: 131.305

    openSUSE 11.1 64-bit 4200+ X2 @ stock speeds
    -compiles fine
    Results from threads.txt
    Threads: 2 Time: 304.430
    Last edited by deanjo; 05-04-2009 at 10:47 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    openSUSE 11.1 64-bit, Phenom II 955 @ stock speeds
    -compiles fine
    Results from threads.txt
    Threads: 4 Time: 99.003

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    465

    Default

    Archlinux X86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6400 @ 2.00GHz
    -complied fine except for some odd reason it did not detect a C2D processor
    Code:
    Try to setup GMP for Intel Core2 or Xeon, wait....
    Did not detect Intel Core 2 CPU.  Patch not installed
    checking build system type... pentium3-unknown-linux-gnu
    checking host system type... pentium3-unknown-linux-gnu
    Threads: 2 Time: 798.969

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Aradreth View Post
    Archlinux X86_64 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6400 @ 2.00GHz
    -complied fine except for some odd reason it did not detect a C2D processor
    Code:
    Try to setup GMP for Intel Core2 or Xeon, wait....
    Did not detect Intel Core 2 CPU.  Patch not installed
    checking build system type... pentium3-unknown-linux-gnu
    checking host system type... pentium3-unknown-linux-gnu
    Threads: 2 Time: 798.969
    Interesting. What distro Aradreth?

    Edit, nevermind just read it. Why is you proc being seen as a P3, hmmm?
    Last edited by deanjo; 05-16-2009 at 04:46 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    CPU ist an Intel C2D E6600 @ 2.4 Ghz. Gentoo ~amd64
    CPU is Intel(R)
    Try to setup GMP for Intel Core2 or Xeon, wait....
    Detected Intel Core 2 CPU
    Seems to patch and compile fine, but the compiler is called with mtune=k8? Wouldn't be mtune=core2 better?
    Anyway: Threads: 2 Time: 397.813 sec
    Edit: Wait what? The C2D is slower than the X2 4200+ in this bench? I guess somethings definitly not setup right.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Hannover, Germany
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Ubuntu Jaunty 32-bit, Athlon64x2 5600+ @ stock speeds (2.9Ghz)
    -compiles fine
    Results from threads.txt
    Threads: 2 Time: 696.551

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zhick View Post
    CPU ist an Intel C2D E6600 @ 2.4 Ghz. Gentoo ~amd64

    Seems to patch and compile fine, but the compiler is called with mtune=k8? Wouldn't be mtune=core2 better?
    Anyway: Threads: 2 Time: 397.813 sec
    Edit: Wait what? The C2D is slower than the X2 4200+ in this bench? I guess somethings definitly not setup right.

    No, the results are right (as far as AMD's being faster then their intel rivals). When it comes to GMP with assembly support the intels are much slower then the AMD's. Can you try the original to see if it calls mtune=k8 there.

    http://h2np.net/pi/pi_thread_e.html
    http://h2np.net/pi/pi_record_e.html

    Seems there is a newer version of the original out as well now which no longer uses the patches.
    Last edited by deanjo; 05-17-2009 at 10:08 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    uname: Linux 2.6.26.3 i686 GNU/Linux
    distro: Debian testing
    CPU 96% gmppi, 4% other programs

    Debian testing 32-bit, Athlon64 3200 @ 2390 MHz
    -compiles fine
    Results from threads.txt
    Threads: 1 Time: 1690.708

    By the way, I didn't understand what the intent of this new tool is. Is it a better way to stress the CPU? Anyway, good luck with it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,584

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leef View Post
    uname: Linux 2.6.26.3 i686 GNU/Linux
    distro: Debian testing
    CPU 96% gmppi, 4% other programs

    Debian testing 32-bit, Athlon64 3200 @ 2390 MHz
    -compiles fine
    Results from threads.txt
    Threads: 1 Time: 1690.708

    By the way, I didn't understand what the intent of this new tool is. Is it a better way to stress the CPU? Anyway, good luck with it.

    Just general benchmarking, plus it really does push a CPU to it's max, something a lot of multi-threaded apps don't

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Seems there is a newer version of the original out as well now which no longer uses the patches.
    Just tried 4.3.1. It compiles with -mtune=core2 by default and needs only 379 seconds to finish (with full kde running, contrary to 397s with your patched 4.2.2, mtune=k8 and no X Server running at all).
    Edit: Just tried with 4.3.1 and -march=core2 and it finished in Time: 316.282 sec. I guess since your script is trying to optimize as much as possible you might as well add CFLAGS="-march=foo" to ./configure in your script.
    Last edited by Zhick; 05-18-2009 at 12:26 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •