Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: [HD3650] radeonhd ver. 1.2.5 no X, whole bunch of new error messages in Xorg.0.log

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default [HD3650] radeonhd ver. 1.2.5 no X, whole bunch of new error messages in Xorg.0.log

    Good morning everyone,

    I installed xf86-video-radeonhd ver. 1.2.5 via git on my Toshiba Satellite A350-12D/Ubuntu 9.04, because fglrx did not work for me, but starting the machine with Driver "radeonhd" does not work either. All I get is a bash promt and a whole bunch of new error messages in Xorg.0.log.

    lspci says:

    Code:
    lspci | grep ATI ->
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Mobility Radeon HD 3650
    01:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RV635 Audio device [Radeon HD 3600 Series]
    Why is the videocard also an audiodevice?

    Anyway, here is a best of from the error messages:

    Code:
    (EE) RADEONHD(0): rhdAtomLvdsDDC: unknown record type: b8            
    (EE) RADEONHD(0): D1CRTCDisable: Failed to Unsync CRTC 1             
    (EE) RADEONHD(0): rhdAllIdle: unable to stop CRTC: cannot idle MC 
     
    Fatal server error:
    AddScreen/ScreenInit failed for driver 0
    
    
    Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support 
    	 at http://wiki.x.org
     for help. 
    Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
    
     ddxSigGiveUp: Closing log
    And the whole Xorg.0.log is in the pastebin.

    I hope, someone can help me out.

    Yours, kw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    Looking at the log now... whoa, that blew up real good. Don't think I have seen that failure before. Suggest you join the radeonhd mailing list and post a link to your log there.

    http://en.opensuse.org/Mailing_Lists

    The 6xx-and-higher GPUs include an HD Audio controller so that you can get audio and video combined on a single HDMI output connector. That way you don't have to externally patch an audio signal from your mobo or sound card back into the video card.

    EDIT - this is the same system where the radeon driver blew up thinking you had 4GB of video ram, isn't it ? If so, pls mention that in the mailing list post.

    Thanks,
    John
    Last edited by bridgman; 05-05-2009 at 12:42 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Did that, thanks for the suggestion.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    I think this is an issue with how the bios sets up mtrrs with 4 GB of ram installed. try removing 2 GB and I bet it will work.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    You are right, it works, but, for obvious reasons, I don't like that solution...

    Xorg.0.log for that case can be found here.

    Chris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,595

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    I think this is an issue with how the bios sets up mtrrs with 4 GB of ram installed. try removing 2 GB and I bet it will work.
    Hmm, would you say this is a BIOS bug and if so, what do you think a workaround should be? Can the kernel work around faulty BIOS MTRR information and setup something more useful? God, I'm so full of questions today...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    There is some additional discussion on the radeonhd mailing list. Apparently there is a kernel boot option to clean up the MTRR values.

    http://lists.opensuse.org/radeonhd/2.../msg00070.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •