Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ALSA 1.0.20 Released, Many Fixes & Improvements

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,359

    Default ALSA 1.0.20 Released, Many Fixes & Improvements

    Phoronix: ALSA 1.0.20 Released, Many Fixes & Improvements

    With three months having passed since the release of ALSA 1.0.19, it is now time for an update to the Advanced Linux Sound Architecture. ALSA 1.0.20 was announced this morning and it brings forth a slew of bug-fixes and other audio driver updates for Linux. There are far too many changes in ALSA 1.0.20 to talk about them all, but some of the prominent ones that caught our attention affect the C-Media Oxygen driver, HDA Codec, and HDA Intel...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzI0Nw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,582

    Default

    Sadly, the 8788 mixer still has all out levels marked as Master instead of what channels they are.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,607

    Default

    Then go forward and fix it yourself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    My au8830 seems to be incapable of playing two sounds at once now, and the sound is full of clicks with even one stream.

    I'm guessing this bug (warning: demands to set cookies) is someone else with the same problem... so I'll just sit here and wait.

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ant P. View Post
    My au8830 seems to be incapable of playing two sounds at once now
    So, if it's now why did you upgrade? Rather then sit and wait maybe you should downgrade?
    Last edited by kraftman; 05-06-2009 at 03:28 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    331

    Default

    I'm using 1.0.19. No fix for it is in 1.0.20.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Sadly, the 8788 mixer still has all out levels marked as Master instead of what channels they are.
    This is a known bug of the alsamixer tool, but nobody has had time to fix it before the release.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,582

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cladisch View Post
    This is a known bug of the alsamixer tool, but nobody has had time to fix it before the release.
    I know, I filed the bug report months ago ( 2008-10-30 ) back around 1.0.16 and it remains open.
    Last edited by deanjo; 05-08-2009 at 08:13 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    No support for Auzentech X-Fi cards...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •