Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 91

Thread: AMD 8.35.5 Driver -- Hello Catalyst Control Center Linux Edition!

  1. #81

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kewlemer View Post
    I've been trying get the fglrx driver running on my custom 2.6.21 and after all the googling and breaking my head, I'm still unable to get it going.

    To begin with, I intalled the driver using yum and it goes fine, but the only problem is that I cannot use my custom 2.6.21 kernel. I then cleaned it up to reinstall for my custom kernel. For this I got the driver from ATI and tried two approaches both of which failed in the same place(aticonfig: munmap_chunk()), which is same as above
    1. Using ATI's install GUI
    2. I built the RPM and try to install them.

    Here are the logs -
    http://www.google.com/notebook/publi...GMIgoQj7mtt6gi

    Any update on this problem? Any suggestions? Any pointers ?

    Any help greatly appreciated.

    Thanks,
    KM
    Are you using the 8.36 driver?

  2. #82
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Sorry that I missed it. Yes it's the latest 8.36.5.

    Thanks,
    KM

  3. #83
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Anyone have any luck getting a dual monitor setup going in RHEL? I've installed the latest drivers, amdcccle, etc.

    When I run amdcccle, only one of the displays is listed in the Display Manager.

    BTW, this is a single graphics card setup, with a split on the output. Works fine when I boot into XP, just not in Red Hat.

    Thanks.

  4. #84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TexasSpeed View Post
    Anyone have any luck getting a dual monitor setup going in RHEL? I've installed the latest drivers, amdcccle, etc.

    When I run amdcccle, only one of the displays is listed in the Display Manager.

    BTW, this is a single graphics card setup, with a split on the output. Works fine when I boot into XP, just not in Red Hat.

    Thanks.
    Welcome to the forums.

    What version of RHEL? Also, what graphics card?

  5. #85
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Sorry, it's Red Hat Enterprise Linux WS (v. 4 for 32-bit x86) and a Radeon X600 graphics card.

    Thanks.

  6. #86

    Default

    Also, another thing I meant to add was does it work if you use aticonfig instead of amdcccle? Either setting up dual head or Big Desktop? You could also try the aticonfig Dynamic Display Management Options. aticonfig --query-monitor

  7. #87
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    That was a good suggestion... this seems like a clue:

    aticonfig --query-monitor

    Connected monitors: crt1, crt2
    Enabled monitors: crt2

    So then I tried:
    aticonfig --enable-monitor crt1,crt2

    and lo and behold, my second monitor turned on! Now they're in "clone" mode, I'm going to try to enable the big desktop with aticonfig.

  8. #88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TexasSpeed View Post
    That was a good suggestion... this seems like a clue:

    aticonfig --query-monitor

    Connected monitors: crt1, crt2
    Enabled monitors: crt2

    So then I tried:
    aticonfig --enable-monitor crt1,crt2

    and lo and behold, my second monitor turned on! Now they're in "clone" mode, I'm going to try to enable the big desktop with aticonfig.
    Looks like it was an amdcccle bug you are dealing with. Try 8.37 once its out and hopefully it will be fixed.

  9. #89
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I actually got it to display "Big Desktop" mode by going back into amdcccle and selecting that mode for monitor 1. Go figure. Thanks for your help, I was really stuck.

  10. #90
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Need Help again with Dual-head

    I had to reinstall my system last week, and the display is now in a funny mode I can't seem to change.

    I have a Y-connector from the analog output of the graphics card going into the analog inputs of two monitors.

    The mouse travels across both displays, but each desktop is independent - I can't drag windows from one desktop to the other. It's not in "clone" mode, but it's not in "Big Desktop" either. I would like to get "Big Desktop" mode working again, but any changes I make to xorg.conf seem to lock up the system. Running amdcccle has no effect - the program doesn't modify xorg.conf, even though the permissions are opened up.

    If I use system-config-display, the resulting xorg.conf file causes the system to lock up when I restart the X server.


    Here are my details:
    OS - RHEL4
    Card - Radeon X600
    Driver Version - 8.36.5
    Catalyst Control Version - 0.9

    Any light that someone can shed on this would be appreciated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •