Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: AMD 8.35.5 and Radeon 9550... details

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default AMD 8.35.5 and Radeon 9550... details

    Here are the steps I've done so far:

    1) I updated the kernel to the latest: 2.6.20-1.2933.fc6

    2) Rebooted the system.

    3) Downloaded the ati-installer, ran it with --buildpkg Fedora/FC6, and it built the rpms no problem.

    4) ran: 'rpm -ivh *.rpm', with no problems (no errors at all)

    5) add the appropriate 'Composite' 'False' and 'AIGLX' 'False' to my xorg.conf.

    (IGNORE step #6 if you're reading this)
    6) ran 'aticonfig --initial', and got the following output:

    "Found fglrx primary device section. Nothing to do, terminating."

    This is the same message even if I supply the path to the xorg.conf file manually.

    7) reboot the computer
    Last edited by jacksmash; 03-29-2007 at 05:03 PM.

  2. #2

    Default

    When installing the RPMs it automatically runs aticonfig --initial.

    What happens when you reboot?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    After I rebooted, and ran fglrxinfo, I get the normal 'Mesa' information. So obviously it didn't work.

    Code:
    Xlib:  extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
    display: :0.0  screen: 0
    OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
    OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
    OpenGL version string: 1.2 (1.5 Mesa 6.5.1)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Here is my xorg.conf:

    Code:
    # Xorg configuration created by system-config-display
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    
    	#Option	    "Xinerama" "on"
    	Identifier     "single head configuration"
    	Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    	Option	    "Xinerama" "on"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Mouse0"
    	Driver      "mouse"
    	Option	    "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    	Option	    "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
    	Driver      "kbd"
    	Option	    "XkbModel" "pc105"
    	Option	    "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
    	Identifier   "Monitor1"
    	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
    	ModelName    "LCD Panel 1280x1024"
     ### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
    	HorizSync    31.5 - 67.0
    	VertRefresh  50.0 - 75.0
    	Option	    "dpms"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    	Option	    "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
    	Option	    "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
    	Option	    "DPMS" "true"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Videocard0"
    	Driver      "radeon"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    	Driver      "fglrx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen0"
    	Device     "Videocard0"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
    	Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]"
    	Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
    	DefaultDepth     24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Viewport   0 0
    		Depth     24
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
    	Option	    "Composite" "False"
    	Option	    "AIGLX" "False"
    EndSection

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    and here is the output of Xorg.0.log:

    (EE) AIGLX: Screen 0 is not DRI capable

  6. #6

    Default

    Does it work if you turn off Xinerama?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Umm... YES. It does!!

    Will I not be able to get it working with Xinerama? I really need the spanning desktops.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Hmm... maybe to answer my own question i'll fool around with that new AMD Display Manager.

  9. #9

    Default

    check out Big Desktop in amdcccle or aticonfig. Big Desktop should work out.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    46

    Default

    Ok... just a note to whoever may read this. When it says to reboot in the amdcccle - make sure you do - because what you see when you change the settings isn't what you will actually get after rebooting.

    In other words.. I tried the Big Desktop over and over - and it would never look right. But when I rebooted... it worked fine.

    I'm so glad to have gotten this working! Many thanks to Michael for his time and patience!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •