Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Command to check CPU speed

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default Command to check CPU speed

    Was thinking is there a command to see dynamic cpu speed ?

    I know lshw and cat /proc/cpuinfo list speed with other details but I think its not the real deal.. Cause if AMD C'nQ is enable the speed should be lower than the exact/default one...

    So if you use any command please do let know..

    Also does AMD Cool N QUite work with Linux ? Is there a CPU Speed Scaling utility for KDE .. There is one gnome-scrip for gnome desktop but didn't came around anything similar for KDE4 !

    Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Germany/NRW
    Posts
    510

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark_Star View Post
    Also does AMD Cool N QUite work with Linux ? Is there a CPU Speed Scaling utility for KDE .. There is one gnome-scrip for gnome desktop but didn't came around anything similar for KDE4 !
    There's a very nice power-management tool in kde's systemsettings (click on the advanced-tab and then there should be a button power-management), which among other things allows you to set your cpufreq-gouvernor (performance, on-demand, powersaving). That's of course if your setup supports this (hal with acpi-support, kernel with CnQ support, etc), but that should be the case with most end-user-targeted distros, like the *buntus and so on.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    That basically for laptops.. I already played with a lot..

    Gnome CPU scaling lets me scale speed but that kde powerdevil doesn't allow to scale cpu speed at will..

    Is there a command to see CPU speed ? which show dynamic changes ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    201

    Default

    You can see more info in
    Code:
    /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/
    (on debian-based systems, not sure about others)
    eg. here I get:
    Code:
    $ cat /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/scaling_available_frequencies
    1733000 1333000 1067000 800000
    You could have a look at cpudyn. More info here. It's in the current ubuntu repos.

    However I'm not sure that this will result in actual longer battery life than dynamic scaling in practice.
    I suspect that briefly speeding up the CPU for a task, then slowing it down again will consume less power than keeping it at a low frequency for the duration of a task, since other hardware power draw remains the same.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Columbus, OH, USA
    Posts
    323

    Default

    If you just want to see your current CPU speed? I use cpufreq-info. Looks like this.

    Code:
    wyatt@Tsubasa ~ $ cpufreq-info
    cpufrequtils 002: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
    Report errors and bugs to linux@brodo.de, please.
    analyzing CPU 0:
      driver: acpi-cpufreq
      CPUs which need to switch frequency at the same time: 0
      hardware limits: 800 MHz - 2.00 GHz
      available frequency steps: 2.00 GHz, 1.60 GHz, 1.33 GHz, 1.07 GHz, 800 MHz
      available cpufreq governors: conservative, ondemand, powersave, userspace, performance
      current policy: frequency should be within 800 MHz and 1.33 GHz.
                      The governor "ondemand" may decide which speed to use
                      within this range.
      current CPU frequency is 800 MHz.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Code:
    [shashwat@localhost ~]$ cpufreq-info
    cpufrequtils 005: cpufreq-info (C) Dominik Brodowski 2004-2006
    Report errors and bugs to cpufreq@vger.kernel.org, please.
    analyzing CPU 0:
      no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
    analyzing CPU 1:
      no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
    analyzing CPU 2:
      no or unknown cpufreq driver is active on this CPU
    How do I fix this ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    201

    Default

    Use a kernel with cpufreq (should be any 2.6.xx). What disro are you on, or is it a custom kernel?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Its kernel 2.6.29.3 and I am using Mandriva 2009.1,,,

    Its not a custom kernel !

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    66

    Default

    I have this too! Have been looking for a solution.

    I'm using a Core2Duo E4300 on a Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3P, using 2.6.29-r5 (gentoo-sources).

    I don't seem to be able to get any kind of freq/voltage throttling to work either.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,725

    Default

    watch -n1 cat /proc/cpuinfo since cpuinfo shows the current speed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •