Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RandR 1.4 & Per-Output DPMS Controls

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,135

    Default RandR 1.4 & Per-Output DPMS Controls

    Phoronix: RandR 1.4 & Per-Output DPMS Controls

    Adam Jackson, a well known X.Org developer at Red Hat, has proposed adding per-output DPMS controls to the Resize and Rotate extension, which would ultimately go on to be part of RandR 1.4. Adam has proposed a patch on the X.Org development list to add per-output DPMS support to the RandR protocol...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzMyMg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    687

    Default

    Nice nice. But what is with save settings ? After each restart i need to set the Modeline manual. And do this with an script that do this each xserver start is not a fine solution.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    536

    Default

    Also still missing from the Resize and Rotate extension is GPU object support.
    Can anyone explain what this is?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    114

    Default

    add per-output DPMS support to the RandR protocol. In other words, DPMS modes of on, stand-by, suspend, or off could be forced to individual monitors (rather than all displays) with drivers that implement this new RandR support.
    Wasn't this already possible? How is it different from issuing xrandr --output FOO --off ?

    Edit: also - how about updating/expanding that guide one of these days? Pivot seems to get little attention, is it possible to pivot single display?
    Last edited by myxal; 06-12-2009 at 10:00 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default

    @Knuckles: support for running with two or more graphics cards at the same time, with the same X server. Same or different vendor, shouldn't matter.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    536

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by myxal View Post
    Wasn't this already possible? How is it different from issuing xrandr --output FOO --off ?
    That way you're turning off the output itself. This way you can put the monitor to sleep, but the output is still there. But yeah it's pretty similar.

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    @Knuckles: support for running with two or more graphics cards at the same time, with the same X server. Same or different vendor, shouldn't matter.
    Oh thanks. But this was supported before wasn't it? Is this broken now for all drivers?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default

    Oh thanks. But this was supported before wasn't it? Is this broken now for all drivers?
    Sadly yes, just like virtual desktop. Virtual desktop has since been re-added, and multi-graphics-card support is coming.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    565

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    Sadly yes, just like virtual desktop. Virtual desktop has since been re-added, and multi-graphics-card support is coming.
    I was pretty surprised when I found out there was no support for multiple cards, really glad once this is addressed as Linux needs to be able to run as many monitor outputs at the same time as wanted, no matter the card, as long is there's a driver for it.

    Once this is done, anyone with 2+ monitors will be thrilled. Aside from home users who may do 3 or more, there are also businesses and such which may want to use many monitors displaying different data for monitoring or other purposes. (airports for instance, to display all the different screens of flight data)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •