Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: TTM, Radeon KMS Pull Request Goes In

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,906

    Default TTM, Radeon KMS Pull Request Goes In

    Phoronix: TTM, Radeon KMS Pull Request Goes In

    David Airlie has asked Linus Torvalds to pull in the TTM memory manager and Radeon kernel mode-setting code into the Linux 2.6.31 kernel. For now only the Radeon DRM uses this new TTM memory manager implementation, but once ready, so will the Nouveau kernel mode-setting code for NVIDIA hardware. VIA's DRM will likely end up using TTM in the long-run too plus potentially other vendors...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=NzMyNg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    This is one huge patch. Will the patch for R500 and R600 be just as complex?

    Or was this the hardest of the two?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,463

    Default

    This was the hardest AFAIK, since it adds both the framework and support for multiple generations of GPU (1xx-4xx pre-AtomBIOS, 5xx using AtomBIOS).

    The 6xx/7xx modesetting code shouldn't be much different from 5xx, so the "missting stuff" is mostly 6xx/7xx memory management.
    Last edited by bridgman; 06-15-2009 at 01:19 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    This was the hardest AFAIK, since it adds both the framework and support for multiple generations of GPU (1xx-4xx pre-AtomBIOS, 5xx using AtomBIOS).

    The 6xx/7xx modesetting code shouldn't be much different from 5xx, so the "missting stuff" is mostly 6xx/7xx memory management.
    Cool!

    Are there any synergy's with Open Graphics Project, or are their driver and hardware too different?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Open_Graphics_Project

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/smiteme/4170866438/
    Posts
    50

    Default

    21 April 2009 Announcement: VGA emulation is working! As part of a complete graphics solution, we need to support VGA text mode.
    i don't think they will need something like a memory manager anytime soon...
    Last edited by frische; 06-15-2009 at 09:34 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,796

    Default

    I don't think anyone will need something like this in general.

  7. #7

    Default

    I highly doubt that the Open Graphics Project will ever even come close to succeeding on a large or semi-large scale.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    France
    Posts
    307

    Default

    Hey,

    I've just installed the latest git kernel + TTM & KMS patches !
    It is almost perfect on the kernel side, but userspace just doesn't do the trick right now.

    Here is what I get in the xorg log, didn't know 2.0.0 was lower than 1.17.0 :
    (EE) RADEON(0): [dri] RADEONDRIGetVersion failed because of a version mismatch.
    [dri] radeon.o kernel module version is 2.0.0 but version 1.17.0 or newer is needed.
    EDIT : I forgot to mention that the screen is composed of green vertical lines and so is the mouse too.

    I'm running the latest stable XServer (1.6.1.901) and the modesetting-gem branch of libdrm. Do I need to recompile mesa ? I'll try to do so.

    Concerning KMS itself, native resolution is well set and no longer results in a crash after a few seconds. Now, the drawback is with dual screen. Both screens get the right resolution but also the same content at the same size. As you can see, there is screen corruption where the screen is not used.


    Whatever, it's a great job
    Last edited by MPF; 06-15-2009 at 06:23 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    598

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    I highly doubt that the Open Graphics Project will ever even come close to succeeding on a large or semi-large scale.
    Didn't he quit his job to work full time on OGC?

    Obviously he is very talented. I mean, who can build an entire graphics card from scratch?

    I bet AMD or Intel is hiring him at some point.

    Or maybe even buys his work?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    206

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MPF View Post
    ...snip...
    Recompile mesa and don't use modesetting-gem, it's outdated, switch to master. Congrats you has a text on your screen! Now run crysis!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •